PDA

View Full Version : Conquered my first USSR mission



growingcorn
04-22-2006, 03:25 AM
you guys remember that USSR BI-1 pilot career mission in the original IL-2? I posted a message earlier seeking help from anyone that has passed that level with flying colours. Well I actually conquered that campaign myself. I'm very proud of myself becuz it took me 54 tries before getting it right.

Now i'm off to do the second level. This is a lot harder. I'm really stuck now. I have to follow the rules accordingly. When I'm ready to land the plane, I can't seem to pick up speed by diving because I don't have enough altitude to do that.

Can anyone offer some advice please?

MadRuski
04-22-2006, 03:44 AM
landing is very simple if u no how to do it, be at least 250 - 190 speed just before u hit the runway and aproach the runway with the throttel on 70%, when u are fairly close set speed to 20%, then wen u are about to land set speed to 0%, u can judge the altitude u should be on by seeing the distance from u to the runway, i actuly land without flaps, only wen i seriously need them, i only use my speed and it works fine for me, the flaps cause to much of a hassle i reckon, but other ppl use them for more realism.

FPSOLKOR
04-22-2006, 01:28 PM
Originally posted by growingcorn:
you guys remember that USSR BI-1 pilot career mission in the original IL-2? I posted a message earlier seeking help from anyone that has passed that level with flying colours. Well I actually conquered that campaign myself. I'm very proud of myself becuz it took me 54 tries before getting it right.

Now i'm off to do the second level. This is a lot harder. I'm really stuck now. I have to follow the rules accordingly. When I'm ready to land the plane, I can't seem to pick up speed by diving because I don't have enough altitude to do that.

Can anyone offer some advice please?
Hey, i've been looking for that campaighn for some time now, where i can get it?

growingcorn
04-22-2006, 04:37 PM
FPSOLKOR.. that campaign can be found in IL-2 Sturmovik (the prequel to FB). It's the USSR Bi-1 campaign.

Ciscobird
04-22-2006, 05:02 PM
Yeah, if you have both games, just open up the mission file in IL-2 (with patches or the latest version!!!) and transfer/copy the BI-1 campaign over to FB mission/campaign folder.

I'm still on my second mission. I could not move up to the next level, no matter what I did. I did everything by the book, blast off, climb, turn left, turn left again, climb skyward until the fuel runs out. Glide back and land on the runway. Still not advancing... Had to do this over and over at least ten times with no crash or off-airport landing.

Yes, I got the message "Primary Mission Completed" midway through the mission but no advance after landing safely.

Anyone know why? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Tully__
04-22-2006, 06:26 PM
That campaign came with one of the patches, not the original game. IIRC it was patch 1.04... find that patch (or one of the later comprehensive patches, 1.1a is still on 3DGamers IL2Sturmovik download page) download and extract to somewhere other than your current game folder then drag the campaign into any version of the game IL2Sturmovik 1.04 or later EXCEPT Pacific Fighters standalone

growingcorn
04-23-2006, 12:38 AM
really? so i can download any campaign from the internet and upload into FB to play that campaign?

Ciscobird
04-23-2006, 12:43 AM
Originally posted by growingcorn:
really? so i can download any campaign from the internet and upload into FB to play that campaign?

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif Yup! You can load old missions and campaign from Il-2 (and the Internet) and transfer them to FB or later versions. Just go to wherever you put your ubisoft files. Find the mission file in Il-2 and open it up, you will find both single and campaign missions there, copy-and-paste whatever you like onto your Il-2 FB file (be sure it's in the same place as the old one, in mission file).

For more free campaign, go to Mission Builder Forum, click on List of campaign (the fourth one on the list)... There you will find numerous links to various campaign.

Be sure to check if the campaign will work with the version you have.

Enjoy (and good luck on BI-1 missions)! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/metal.gif

growingcorn
04-23-2006, 01:04 AM
Thanks a bunch Ciscobird. I still can't believe how active this forum is. It's amazing. I can see myself playing this game for a very very long time.

Ciscobird
04-23-2006, 01:11 AM
Originally posted by growingcorn:
I can see myself playing this game for a very very long time.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif<span class="ev_code_YELLOW">Ditto!</span>http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Tully__
04-23-2006, 06:45 PM
Originally posted by growingcorn:
really? so i can download any campaign from the internet and upload into FB to play that campaign?
Missions/campaigns designed for the same or earlier versions yes. Those designed for later versions, only if they don't include aircraft/objects/maps not included in your version.

FPSOLKOR
04-24-2006, 03:15 AM
Originally posted by Tully__:
That campaign came with one of the patches, not the original game. IIRC it was patch 1.04... find that patch (or one of the later comprehensive patches, 1.1a is still on 3DGamers IL2Sturmovik download page) download and extract to somewhere other than your current game folder then drag the campaign into any version of the game IL2Sturmovik 1.04 or later EXCEPT Pacific Fighters standalone

Thanks man, but i was thinking about getting a campaighn without 38mb addon, which is rather useless for me.

tagTaken2
04-24-2006, 04:47 AM
Originally posted by FPSOLKOR:
Hey, i've been looking for that campaighn for some time now, where i can get it?

I'm taking off now, but if you want, PM me or somebody could email you the files (116kb). Unfortunately the b/w cut scenes don't work post original Il-2, they've changed .trk to .ntrk (or something).

FPSOLKOR
04-24-2006, 01:28 PM
Originally posted by tagTaken2:
I'm taking off now, but if you want, PM me or somebody could email you the files (116kb). Unfortunately the b/w cut scenes don't work post original Il-2, they've changed .trk to .ntrk (or something).

I'm not playing for intros, so if you can, please send me a rar archive olegkorytov@newmail.ru

Ace_Hyflyer
04-24-2006, 02:08 PM
Growingcorn,

The trick to this mission is that you have to cross over each of the waypoints on the map. Each one is set as a recon "primary mission goal" so you need to get close to each one and land on the runway and you'll beat the mission.

Good luck,
Chris

mortoma
04-24-2006, 08:01 PM
Originally posted by MadRuski:
landing is very simple if u no how to do it, be at least 250 - 190 speed just before u hit the runway and aproach the runway with the throttel on 70%, when u are fairly close set speed to 20%, then wen u are about to land set speed to 0%, u can judge the altitude u should be on by seeing the distance from u to the runway, i actuly land without flaps, only wen i seriously need them, i only use my speed and it works fine for me, the flaps cause to much of a hassle i reckon, but other ppl use them for more realism. Ummmmm, not trying to cause waves here ( unusual for me ) but I think you're supposed to only land it totally exhausted of fuel. Very challenging, but that's how I thought the Russians did it. Same for Me-163. I mean this is true only if you want to be realistic about it. In the game it lands just fine with fuel and power on, since they don't model the possible catastrophic results if you do try to land with fuel. It's truly up to the pilot preference, to each his own.

growingcorn
04-24-2006, 10:56 PM
yup i had a hunch that this mission requires you to exhaust all of the fuel. i know what i'm suppose to do. but many times i'm about 200m away from the landing strip and i can't land without much altitude. once my fuel is depleted i'm starting to descend gradually but all those times i'm short of landing on the runway.

tagTaken2
04-25-2006, 12:41 AM
Originally posted by FPSOLKOR:

I'm not playing for intros, so if you can, please send me a rar archive olegkorytov@newmail.ru

Done, but the cutscenes were actually quite cool. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Tully__
04-25-2006, 10:14 AM
...but I think you're supposed to only land it totally exhausted of fuel...
If you follow real life procedures yes. The fuel used by both the Bi-1 and the Me163 was EXTREMELY volatile and sensitive stuff, you didn't want to be landing with any of it in the tanks.

In this campaign and in the game generally there is no means to set fuel load remaining at landing as a mission condition so landing with some fuel left over is not going to stop you from successfully completing the mission.