PDA

View Full Version : @ Bearcat and the Control-er freaks. New input control idea.



Copperhead310th
01-01-2005, 12:45 PM
http://www.raildriver.com/rdgraphics/desk475.jpg

i stumbled across this here little device and started wondering if it could be be used for our sim. you can NEVER have enough levers and this looks like it would do nice as a duel throttle for twins & bombers. not to mention it has a great deal of buttons that would take away from having to use the keyboard almost compleatly. Add this on your rack and use it with your fav stick or stick throttle might work out pretty good. any idea's on this guys?
if this will work i want it. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
Looking farther down the page it seems that they have open-ended this thing to work for other sims so it's a good possability we could get this to work for our sim. would be nice to replace my keyboard with some thing a little more realistic and useful. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

here's the site for it.
RailDriver Desktop Train Cab Controller (http://www.raildriver.com/rdcontrols/desktop.php)

Copperhead310th
01-01-2005, 12:45 PM
http://www.raildriver.com/rdgraphics/desk475.jpg

i stumbled across this here little device and started wondering if it could be be used for our sim. you can NEVER have enough levers and this looks like it would do nice as a duel throttle for twins & bombers. not to mention it has a great deal of buttons that would take away from having to use the keyboard almost compleatly. Add this on your rack and use it with your fav stick or stick throttle might work out pretty good. any idea's on this guys?
if this will work i want it. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
Looking farther down the page it seems that they have open-ended this thing to work for other sims so it's a good possability we could get this to work for our sim. would be nice to replace my keyboard with some thing a little more realistic and useful. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

here's the site for it.
RailDriver Desktop Train Cab Controller (http://www.raildriver.com/rdcontrols/desktop.php)

T_O_A_D
01-01-2005, 12:50 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif Mouth waters at the thought http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

tsisqua
01-01-2005, 01:08 PM
Beautiful!

I would imagine that any USB controller with an axis will be seen by the game, I don't see why not. GAWD, I'd love to have that!

Tsisqua

Aaron_GT
01-01-2005, 01:24 PM
I've been wondering if one of the control surfaces you can buy for controlling things like Cubase and other sequencers might send data in a way that could be used in a sim. Many have a USB output, but I suppose it is how the output is encoded that is important. The smaller ones can be had for less than a specialist flight sim control surface (circa 85).

Aaron_GT
01-01-2005, 01:25 PM
P.S. If we use the rail sim controls do we have to change the name of ground control to the Fat Controller?

Copperhead310th
01-01-2005, 02:32 PM
dunno but looking at the pic it has more than enough buttons and controls to compleatly eleminate the need for a keyboard.
Simple house hold label make that you can get from any wal-mart would take care of properly naming all the inputs to what you choose to use them for.

I was thinking along the lines of a 2nd throttle for the P-38 & B-25, and then a lever for trim, flaps, ect. combined with an x-52 and good set of ruder peddles....WOW.
plus it would mean no more confusing key binds for me like Ctl+L for cockpit lights ect. and that 2nd lever from the left has potential for the Landing gears, or flaps. i say it has real possibilties. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Akronnick
01-01-2005, 03:39 PM
if your looking for a more realistic Multi-engine controller, CH makes a Throttle Quadrant that has six plain levers and several toggle switches. I think it's probably in the same price range as the Train Sim controller. Il-2 doesn't allow mapping a seperate throttle to each engine so getting it to work properly may be a headache.
http://www.chproducts.com/retail/throttles/tq_twin_lg.jpg

LStarosta
01-01-2005, 05:17 PM
Yeah I agree with the above. You can take the color coded caps and readjust them as you wish and then reprogram them accordingly. I really want to get one of those bad boys. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif

RevvinUK
01-01-2005, 06:18 PM
I use a CH Throttle Quadrant, there are two ways of gettign around the fact IL-2/PF does'nt support separate engine control. One is to use cms scripting in the CH Control Manager software and the other involves using a simple macro again in CH Control Manager. I used the latter method for this (http://www.ch-hangar.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=1462) profile I created.

Underneath the two levers on the left side of the throttle quadrant I have two of the toggle switches to select engine 1 or 2 and then move the corresponding lever. This is done by mapping keys to the lever joystick axis instead of using it as a standard joystick axis. I've used the same method to control flaps, landing gear and arrestor hook to some of the other levers so I have a quick visual or tactile reference as to the condition of those controls.

SkyPiggies
01-01-2005, 06:51 PM
Has anyone messaged them to ask about this?

Aaron_GT
01-01-2005, 07:08 PM
SkyPiggies: A mesage to who? I've sent a message to Behringer about their control surface as I noticed one (not very reliable looking, admittedly) flight sim supplies dealer was offering the BCF2000 in with their joysticks. I've asked if it might be possible to use the BCF2000 on flight sims. It retails for 150 in the UK, and my search on google happened to pull it up in relation to flight sims so it looked like a good possible.

The BCF 2000 has about 8 sliders, about 16 rotaries and around 20+ buttons, meant for automating sequencers via a USB interface (or synths over MIDI). But you never know. For me it could serve both functions.

Aaron_GT
01-01-2005, 07:11 PM
P.S. If IL2 could support it in theory you could probably dedicate one vertical strip of the BCF2000 for an engine: throttle, mixture, prop, buttons for supercharger up/down, etc., if all those can be supported via continuous controllers. There's also the BCR2000 which has no faders but about 20 more rotaties. We'll have to see if it would function, though. Might be very nice if it does.

Bearcat99
01-01-2005, 08:42 PM
Looks good... Ill stick to my FFB2/X45/CH/TIR setup though.

T_O_A_D
01-02-2005, 12:33 PM
Mine is same as BC FFB2/X45/CH/TIR.
But just to let you know I have my x-45 rudder rocker banned so I can select left and right engines,and all engines, it works well. But I'm still wondering about this thing too.

Bearcat99
01-02-2005, 09:45 PM
Hmm engines.... thats intereting.. I have mine set for flaps. L & R engines are the a & B buttons of my X 45 stick in mode 2.. which is where I stay mostly.....

SkyPiggies
01-03-2005, 12:20 PM
It looks like we'll have to write our own driver -

we have looked into this and have a developers kit available which, if you
have programing skills, would allow you to write the controller into
flightsim and other programs which is what the kit is designed for, please
see http://piengineering.com/download/RailDriver/RailDriverdevkit.zip for
the download and http://www.raildriver.com/rdsupport/techdown.php for the
details.

Apart from this, we have made the technology available and it is just a
case of the program manufacturers writing us into their program which is
how it is supposed to work in the gaming industry.

Best Regards

Raildriver Technical Support

Copperhead310th
01-03-2005, 01:11 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by SkyPiggies:
It looks like we'll have to write our own driver -

_we have looked into this and have a developers kit available which, if you
have programing skills, would allow you to write the controller into
flightsim and other programs which is what the kit is designed for, please
see http://piengineering.com/download/RailDriver/RailDriverdevkit.zip for
the download and http://www.raildriver.com/rdsupport/techdown.php for the
details.

Apart from this, we have made the technology available and it is just a
case of the program manufacturers writing us into their program which is
how it is supposed to work in the gaming industry.

Best Regards

Raildriver Technical Support_ <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

i don't think that would be a problem we have qulified ppl in the 310th that could most likly write a driver for the controler.

Maico_249th
01-03-2005, 10:03 PM
THe train driver gizmo is nice. I would admit to having been attracted to it. However in reallity, I fly with the setup that Bearcat 99 has. If I wanted to take my hands off the throttle to use flaps, then I would still have them on the keyboard. The X52 has a nice little slider right at my thumb for that. The top wheel I use for aileron trim. The side wheel for elevator trim. The mouse wheel with the built in mouse button I have banded for prop pitch. The mouse button operates auto/manual trim. Makes them Zoom climbs a real blast.
Bear, you just have to have one of these. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif