PDA

View Full Version : Newfound delight, The La-5FN

ClearDarkzz
06-21-2009, 03:21 AM
Being a Bf109 driver myself. I had the opportunity to fly the La-5FN last night during a mission online.

Boy was it a pleasant ride. Though a bit unstable at above 500km/h. I had a blast with it and had no issues dispatching N1K's and Ki's.

Just thought id share this. I usually do not fly russian aircraft unless there's no option and i haven't put any serious time in the La-5 until last night. What was i missing!

ClearDarkzz
06-21-2009, 03:21 AM
Being a Bf109 driver myself. I had the opportunity to fly the La-5FN last night during a mission online.

Boy was it a pleasant ride. Though a bit unstable at above 500km/h. I had a blast with it and had no issues dispatching N1K's and Ki's.

Just thought id share this. I usually do not fly russian aircraft unless there's no option and i haven't put any serious time in the La-5 until last night. What was i missing!

TinyTim
06-21-2009, 03:36 AM
Only things you need to keep in mind is: stay low, and don't dive above 700kph.

Anyway, shooting down Franks and Georges? Was it an August storm (Soviet invasion of Japanese occupied Manchuria/Manchuko in August 1945) scenario?

ClearDarkzz
06-21-2009, 03:45 AM
It was indeed a late war mission. Over Manchuko.

I stayed low during the entire mission. Never above 3000 meters.

What blew my mind was the "hunger" the aircraft showed for speed and an incredible acceleration. Needless to say i could stay in a turn fight and gain on enemy aircraft (known for their own manuverability).

Playing alot of the classic scenarios (PTO and Spits vs 109's) i almost never used to TnB against Jap fighters. It was just so awesome.

BillSwagger
06-21-2009, 03:56 AM
I flew a Yak 9ut on that very same map, and im a lot like ClearDarkzz, in that i don't fly many russian planes primarily because i like to fly above 3000M.

For a late war map, they ought to have the La-7 instead.

crucislancer
06-21-2009, 09:12 AM