PDA

View Full Version : Saitek's Pro Flight Throttle Quadrant



TC_Stele
08-22-2007, 05:41 PM
Ok, so Saitek is releasing their throttle quadrant, and I think its due for release at the end of the month. It's going for $60 at their site http://saitekusa.com/usa/prod/quad.htm and $50 at gogamer.com

I've always wanted an affordable throttle quadrant, but now that I think of it I'm not sure what I'll use it for with IL2. I have the X-52 along with CH pedals, and I seem to be getting enough out of using the throttle for power and the slider for prop pitch. If I plug in the throttle quadrant I'll have access to use the other three for flaps, brakes (although i've already got that on my pedals), and prop pitch (i don't have to use the X-52 slider anymore). Also, the unit has 6 buttons on the bottom.

Now I guess its programmable, so I can use that extra axis lever for something thats "key" related.

For those getting the Saitek Throttle Quadrant, what do you plan on using the three axis for?

http://saitekusa.com/usa/prod/quad.htm

TC_Stele
08-22-2007, 05:41 PM
Ok, so Saitek is releasing their throttle quadrant, and I think its due for release at the end of the month. It's going for $60 at their site http://saitekusa.com/usa/prod/quad.htm and $50 at gogamer.com

I've always wanted an affordable throttle quadrant, but now that I think of it I'm not sure what I'll use it for with IL2. I have the X-52 along with CH pedals, and I seem to be getting enough out of using the throttle for power and the slider for prop pitch. If I plug in the throttle quadrant I'll have access to use the other three for flaps, brakes (although i've already got that on my pedals), and prop pitch (i don't have to use the X-52 slider anymore). Also, the unit has 6 buttons on the bottom.

Now I guess its programmable, so I can use that extra axis lever for something thats "key" related.

For those getting the Saitek Throttle Quadrant, what do you plan on using the three axis for?

http://saitekusa.com/usa/prod/quad.htm

Urufu_Shinjiro
08-22-2007, 06:52 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by TC_Stele:
Ok, so Saitek is releasing their throttle quadrant, and I think its due for release at the end of the month. It's going for $60 at their site http://saitekusa.com/usa/prod/quad.htm and $50 at gogamer.com

I've always wanted an affordable throttle quadrant, but now that I think of it I'm not sure what I'll use it for with IL2. I have the X-52 along with CH pedals, and I seem to be getting enough out of using the throttle for power and the slider for prop pitch. If I plug in the throttle quadrant I'll have access to use the other three for flaps, brakes (although i've already got that on my pedals), and prop pitch (i don't have to use the X-52 slider anymore). Also, the unit has 6 buttons on the bottom.

Now I guess its programmable, so I can use that extra axis lever for something thats "key" related.

For those getting the Saitek Throttle Quadrant, what do you plan on using the three axis for?

http://saitekusa.com/usa/prod/quad.htm </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I plan on getting two when SOW:BoB is released for some serious twin engine action down the road!!

TX-EcoDragon
08-22-2007, 07:16 PM
That yoke package (which includes the throttle quadrant) looks awesome too! The Price at gogamer is downright cheap for the apparent quality of that yoke. I just hope it will be as solid as it looks. I've been contemplating the pre-order for a little while. . .I think I'll just go for it.

Bearcat99
08-22-2007, 07:41 PM
I was thinking about getting the yoke and throttle so I can do FSX since my MSFFB2 seems to go nuts everytime I fire up a MS sim.. go figure.

triad773
08-22-2007, 09:00 PM
I like it and think it a great supplement to my Saitek EVO Force stick; but was wondering about the naming convention- it's labelled as a throttle 'quadrant' yet only has 3 levers. Anyone care to comment? How about if a Saitek rep is on the boards- what's the logic behind that?

Too petty? Inquiring minds want to know http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Cheers

Triad

Therion_Prime
08-23-2007, 12:15 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Urufu_Shinjiro:
I plan on getting two when SOW:BoB is released for some serious twin engine action down the road!! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Uh, is multi-engine axis support 8or just a axis mappable mixture) confirmed for BoB?

Therion_Prime
08-23-2007, 12:17 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by triad773:
I like it and think it a great supplement to my Saitek EVO Force stick; but was wondering about the naming convention- it's labelled as a throttle 'quadrant' yet only has 3 levers. Anyone care to comment? How about if a Saitek rep is on the boards- what's the logic behind that?

Too petty? Inquiring minds want to know http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Cheers

Triad </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Most quadrants have six levers and are still called "quadrant". Never understood it either ...

The-Pizza-Man
08-23-2007, 01:52 AM
I suppose it might be from back in the days when you had 2 fixed props, so you only had mixture and throttle, or it might be a 4 engine jet thing as well.

EDIT: Does anyone know where/if you can get it in oz

jvmasset
08-23-2007, 04:12 AM
hello!

It is called a "quadrant" because the supporting structure (and its covering) for all those levers has this quadrant (= 1/4 of a pie) shape when seen from the side, or when teared down...
This makes sense when you consider the levers in question rotates around a common axis for ease of manipulation (especially true for multi engines, where you often has to operate 2, 3 or 4 throttle levers together). The 1/4 rotation feels also very natural to the controlling hand and hence very precise...

JV