PDA

View Full Version : Antenna Wires?

Sooocool
05-23-2006, 12:56 AM
I€ve noticed that on so many WW2 era aircraft, there are one or more wires or cables linking empennage to antenna masts or wings. Maybe it€s for structural reinforcement against high G loads, or perhaps it gives high gain to the radio, or possibly a radio directional signal. Does anyone know?

Waldo.Pepper
05-23-2006, 01:36 AM
Some hints here.... 'tis VERY complex.

http://aafradio.org/NASM/B-29_antennas_starboard.JPG

Platypus_1.JaVA
05-24-2006, 02:16 PM
What Waldo said http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

It is certainly not structual reinforcement wires. I studied radio technique in school but it was a long time ago. Most wires where for communications indeed.

horseback
05-24-2006, 05:11 PM
An antenna's length is based on the physical wavelenth of the frequency of the radio it is used for. Dredging up what they taught me in Electronics Technician 'A' School at NTC Great Lakes (in 1975-6), radio waves travel at around the speed of light, or something like 186,280 miles per second.

This means that the lower a frequency is, the longer its wavelength. The best antennas are a quarter, a half, or a full wavelength long. Therefore, if a megahertz is a million cycles (or waves) per second, that gives you a wavelength one millionth of a second long, or about 983.57 feet (my calculator just wheezed) for a one Megahertz cycle.

Those antenna wires were the antenna for HF and early VHF radios.

cheers

horseback

Nimits
05-24-2006, 09:17 PM
Basic Electronics: The longer the antenna, the better the radio. World War II aviation radios generally required long antennas to make them functionall useful.

M2morris
05-24-2006, 11:12 PM
Horseback is correct, and I remember the formula for determining the lenght of each half of a dipole antenna is 234 devided by the freq. and the higher the freq, the shorter the ant.