PDA

View Full Version : Holy poo the Jug is a silent destroyer!

ROXunreal
11-06-2009, 05:44 PM
I used to fly either an FW190 or a Ki-84 95% of the time since I started playing online 8 months ago, but lately I started experimenting more with other aircraft occasionally, and today I gave the P-47 a serious try for the first time online. I really expected to be shot down at first contact because I knew nothing about this plane's secrets, just that it climbs slow, maneuvers poorly and dives like a rock.

So I get some altitude, make a few passes on a J2M and snapshot it a few times with the guns, nothing too sustained. As I'm positioning myself for another pass I suddenly get Enemy Aircraft Destroyed......oooooook....., moving on.

P-63 closing in from far out, as this is one of the worst things I can encounter with the 190 at co alt I again start thinking about the worst. Somehow however I evade him a few times and manage to lure him into a head on. Fire, engine smoking, pilot probably wounded or dead as well. Ridiculously easy.

Got 2 more kills when I took off again after that, one was a spit that again I just did a half second burst on, pass him by and think he's lightly damaged. Boom, he crashes.

Though I was probably on a lucky streak, this thing DESTROYS. Planes for which I thought I only ruined their paint job and that they would turn and attack me would literally just fall out of the sky 30 seconds later, and I would be like ".......what?". Crazy. And of course getting away from anyone is all too easy if you have altitude, the thing is like a downhill train with no brakes when you push the nose down.

Anyway, very impressed, any thunderbolt specific tips are welcome http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Romanator21
11-06-2009, 06:34 PM
But...the .50 cals suck! How is it possible?! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif