PDA

View Full Version : Two joysticks at once?



R_Target
01-11-2005, 06:32 AM
Hey guys, I've never tried this, so I thought I'd seek some advice before before wasting time/screwing something up. Anyhow, if I were to plug in a 2nd stick to use as a controller(need more buttons) would there be all kinds of weird conflicts with the game detecting two sticks, or would I just have to go the HOTAS setup and re-assign everything? Any help is appreciated.

R_Target
01-11-2005, 06:32 AM
Hey guys, I've never tried this, so I thought I'd seek some advice before before wasting time/screwing something up. Anyhow, if I were to plug in a 2nd stick to use as a controller(need more buttons) would there be all kinds of weird conflicts with the game detecting two sticks, or would I just have to go the HOTAS setup and re-assign everything? Any help is appreciated.

FA_Whisky
01-11-2005, 06:35 AM
Its no problem at all. I use 2 usb sticks. One is build into a new home and has sliders for engine control and trim. It works great.

musickna
01-11-2005, 06:39 AM
Also use two sticks - Saitek X45 and Cyborg Gold. No problems.

Tully__
01-11-2005, 08:05 AM
Any minor issues you may encounter are addressed in the "Joysticks..." link under my signature picture, particularly the sections on assigning controls and adding a second controller.

John_Stag
01-11-2005, 08:37 AM
I believe you can use up to four. I've currently got three controllers plugged in and mapped.

R_Target
01-11-2005, 09:39 AM
This is just the advice I was looking for. Thanks everyone. Now I can spend the next couple days screwing something up. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Fliger747
01-11-2005, 09:44 AM
I setup my MS FFB2 with the Saitek X-45 and CH pedals. At present I am not using the X-45 stick part, it's just sitting there, but it is available and programable. Currently this allows me to use the FFB2 with the X-45 throttle, which feeds through the X45 stick.

nickdanger3
01-11-2005, 12:59 PM
I have the exact same setup as Fliger747 but I do use the stick - that red glowing button with the protector is too cool not to use for Bailing Out. Just wish I didn't need to use it so much.

Go for it. Setting it up was completely problem free for me at least.

Bearcat99
01-11-2005, 03:16 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Fliger747:
I setup my MS FFB2 with the Saitek X-45 and CH pedals. At present I am not using the X-45 stick part, it's just sitting there, but it is available and programable. Currently this allows me to use the FFB2 with the X-45 throttle, which feeds through the X45 stick. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have the same setup only I use that X45 stick as a button bay. I have just about everything programmed into my sticks that is functionable in the sim from detaching a plane (Mistel.. I-16 to th big bird) to droppig wingtanks and my K-14 gunsight. Dont waste that stick... especially if you have a MSFFB2 and pedals. Dont be lazy or intimidated. I was both for about 4 months then after I accidentally reset my controls profile back to the default I said screw this.. this wont happen to me again. Now I have a decent profile set up.. although i have to update the one on my site for PF.. but as it is ot is a fecent enough place to start. Plus you can back up the controls setting in C:&gt;Program files&gt;UBI&gt;IL@&gt; Users.. and find the pilot profile that you are using. Copy and paste the values between Device nd Hotkey I think it is... it's on our site.... into a folder. If you ever have to reset your FB for whatever reason you wont have to reprogram all those buttons. Anyway.. bottom line... use that stick man.

T_O_A_D
01-11-2005, 03:19 PM
Here just to give you a head start.

I have the X-45 , Microdosft FFB and CH USB rudder pedals attached to mine. The FFB ends up being ID1 in the game, My CH pedals ended up ID2 and the X-45 ended up ID3 As you can see in this Pic
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v37/T_O_A_D/Joystick%20stuff/HOTAS.jpg

Your in game adjustments will be only for ID1
I used to not have 3 controllers and MY Rudder pedals where then ID1 and I only had Pitch and Yaw like you to adjust.

Now if you have more than 1 controller you will have to adjust your sensitiveties, manually with notepad in your conf..ini file.

This is what you have in config file when you have the X-45 and CH Pro USB pedal combination.
At least this is true for T_O_A_D's machine with Win XP Pro.

If yours is different then set one line at a time to all zeros. Save file then start game and find out which axis is now dead. Once you know which line affect what axis your on your way.


[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=0
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X=0 0 0 0 13 30 46 59 70 84 100 0 -------------------Left Toe Brake ID1 CH Pro USB
1Y=0 0 0 0 13 30 46 59 70 84 100 0 -------------------Right Toe Brake ID1 CH Pro USB
1Z=0 4 8 26 46 86 100 100 100 100 100 0 ----------------Yaw ID1 CH Pro USB
1X1=0 1 3 6 12 21 32 44 61 81 100 0 ---------------Roll ID2 X-45
1Y1=0 1 4 8 15 24 33 44 60 77 100 0 ---------------Pitch ID2 X-45
1RX1=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 --------------Front rotary ID2 X-45
1RZ1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 -----Rudder Rocker ID2 X-45
1U1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 ------Throttle ID2 X-45
1V1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 ------Thumb Rotary ID2 X-45q
1RX=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RZ=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1U=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1V=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0



This is what you will have with the X-45,Micro FFB,Ch USB rudder pedals



[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=2
U=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
V=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1X=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 -----Micro FFB Alerion
1Y=0 1 4 8 15 24 33 44 60 77 100 0 --------Micro FFB Elevator
1Z=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1X1=0 0 0 0 13 30 46 59 70 84 100 0 --------------CH pedals left Toe brake
1Y1=0 0 0 0 13 30 46 59 70 84 100 0 --------------CH Pedals Right Toe Brake
1RX1=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1RZ1=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1U1=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1V1=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1RX=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 ------------Micro FFB twist rudder
1U=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 ------Micro FFB Throttle
1V=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RY=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1Z1=0 4 8 26 46 86 100 100 100 100 100 0 --------------------CH Pedals Yaw Rudder
1X2=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 ------------------X-45 Alerion Roll
1Y2=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 ------------------X-45 Elevator Pitch
1RX2=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 ---------------------X-45 Front Rotary
1RZ2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 -------X-45 Rudder Rocker
1U2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 -------X-45 Throttle
1V2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 --------X-45 Thumb Rotary


I hope I didn't give you a head ache :lol:

OldPepper
01-12-2005, 07:56 AM
You may also find the little program "JoyToKey" useful with such setups.

I use JoyToKey soley for my viewing, by converting my hat switch to a 'trackball' of sorts.

HTH

tB_Blueknight
01-12-2005, 06:18 PM
This joy to key will it allow me to set the pan rate of my hat switch ???

Bearcat99
01-12-2005, 09:06 PM
If you are using an X45 you wont need it.