PDA

View Full Version : HELP

kumba007
07-28-2005, 06:31 PM
Hello, I am kinda new to IL2 Sturmovik. I've been playing it for several hours now, and i can get my plain airborn,do several maneuvers but I cannot get it landed. I landed it twice, but a million miles away from the airstrip. I don't want to rush into things, so I haven't been to battle tutorial yet, always practicing the landing part, and failing it. I've read several guides how to land, seen the tutorial like a kazillion times, tried to land it, but noooo way, I always crash when touching the ground, I also have a problem with flying right to the strip,i have to correct till the last moment, sometimes I fly too hard, sometimes I stall, every time sth goes horribly wrong.
Can someone please say that this is normal and everyone went trough this stage, cause I get nervous trying to land. As I want to learn to walk before learning to run, I don't want to proceed with other tutorials, because when I will play a real game, i will have to land and screw up the game at last hand.

grtzz
K

ps. another thing, the intro, can it be skipped? because no matter which button I press, he always runs completely.
thx

Hoarmurath
07-28-2005, 06:38 PM
For the intro, open the configuration software for IL2, and uncheck the "play intro" at the bottom. Sorry if it is not the exact term, but i have the game in french.

For landings, yes, it is difficult, and you will need lots of practice. There are no magic way of landing right every time. I played this game for years, and sometime i still manage to do a bad landing.

So, practice, practice, practice, practice... This is the key...

Crimea_River
07-28-2005, 07:06 PM
There are good tutorials around but you say you've read several. If you understand the basics then it is truly a matter of practice.

Some planes are tougher than others. Try a stable machine like a Hurricane. I like the F4F Wildcat as well.