PDA

View Full Version : Error message on start-up!



Azagoth.
01-01-2006, 03:08 PM
I haven't got AEP installed, so PF only gives me the option to install as a standalone install. I've now tried 6 times, each time it refuses to start.

On each install I tried to run it after each patch had been installed, including and up to 4.0.2, yet still I got the same message! I get that little splashscreen of the Dauntless droping a torpedo, but then that disapears and I get this error message.

http://img511.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gcs00649vm.jpg
Also, my HDD and DVD drive lights just stay's on but there's no activity with either drive! Plus, I've also tried installing it from both my DVD drives, sadly though, with no luck!

Azagoth.
01-01-2006, 03:08 PM
I haven't got AEP installed, so PF only gives me the option to install as a standalone install. I've now tried 6 times, each time it refuses to start.

On each install I tried to run it after each patch had been installed, including and up to 4.0.2, yet still I got the same message! I get that little splashscreen of the Dauntless droping a torpedo, but then that disapears and I get this error message.

http://img511.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gcs00649vm.jpg
Also, my HDD and DVD drive lights just stay's on but there's no activity with either drive! Plus, I've also tried installing it from both my DVD drives, sadly though, with no luck!

steve_v
01-01-2006, 05:21 PM
Uninstall everything.

Please post your DxDiag to look for possible driver conflicts
Click here for DxDiag_Instructions (http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/system.htm)

reinstall the box version only. check il2setup that the settings correspond to your hardware. It will not automatically detect the type of hardware you have. You have to make those selections. Retest. Do not patch. To do so only complicates trying to isolate the problem.

Jim57
01-01-2006, 05:25 PM
I just got the game yesterday, and when I installed it today, I found I got the SAME message. I did manage to find help here somewhere... I think this is where I found it:
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m...541010043#8541010043 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/4401010043/r/8541010043#8541010043)


... anyway, it seems that some RTS.dll file doesn't work, so you can DL another one here:

http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/end...dp.php?p_faqid=10061 (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=10061)

Just click on the RTS.dll name below where it says, File Attachments, then save it in the main Pacific Fighters folder (C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\Pacific Fighters) as well as the ubi.com folder (C:\Program Files\ubi.com).

Hope it works for you, it DID for me! Thanks Steve!

Jim

Azagoth.
01-01-2006, 10:21 PM
It's not a hardware, DX, or driver problem at all! I know that for certain! 6 un-installs and re-installs later it definately ain't a hardware problem, it's a software problem! Plus, I know exactly what's on my PC and what's doing what! I ain't exactly an amateur when it comes to PC's.

I tried downloading that new RTS.dll but all I get is a file called 0 which won't work, even if I change the name!

Tully__
01-01-2006, 10:56 PM
Got virtual drives installed? If so, that's likely the problem.

Azagoth.
01-02-2006, 08:19 AM
No, no virtual drives are installed at all!

This is the system I'm using :-

Athlon64 3200+ 'Venice' @ 2.1GHz
ASUS A8N-SLi nForce4
1GB PC3200 Kingston HyperX (2 x 512MB in dual channel)
ASUS 'Extreme' 6600GT 256MB DDR3 PCI-e (77.77WHQL drivers)
200GB SATA Seagate Barracuda
XP Home (SP2) fullu updated
DirectX 9.0c

Incidentaly, I'm using the older 77.77 release drivers because they seem to be the more stable. The later releases, upto and including the 81.98, cause graphics corruption in Battlefield 2 and Guild Wars.