PDA

View Full Version : since we're improvising planes, torpedo loadouts would be nice on more



Enforcer572005
09-24-2005, 08:29 PM
Some cmpn makers are using existing planes in place of some we dont have, a few more loadouts would be useful, especially torpedos. I call this substitution "hollywoodization", like using SNJs for japanese planes, or Buchons for 109s etc.

The PBN/PBY deos not have torpedos in the loadouts, and it really needs to be able to carry 2. L0ts of combat seen in htat mode.

Bird brain has used the DB3 bomber as an SM-79, but it cant carry a torp either. One would be very useful and allow simulating the sm-79 in the antishipping mode. manditory in a malta scenario.

The P-400 doesnt carry any ordinacne, but it sure did at guadalcanal. This lack of the fuselage rack limits the misns we can simulate, since its main job there was close support.

Not a gripe, just an observation about the need for loadouts that may or may not be historical, but would be very useful.

Tater-SW-
09-24-2005, 11:32 PM
They could give a torp to the SBD and Val and instant torpedo planes. Ugly sub, but it's work.

tater

Enforcer572005
09-25-2005, 10:06 PM
I know the B25s sometimes carried torps, but i havent even looked at the load out for htat yet.

some generic load outs for such use as substitutions for other planes really would be great.

i cant figure out how the pby/pbn didnt get torps......we had a user made one in CFS2 that carried 2, and i used that in a bonus misn i made for my cactus cmpn in that sim.

neural_dream
09-26-2005, 01:16 AM
The B-25G and H were dedicated anti-shipping, not the J.

Nimits
09-26-2005, 05:24 PM
The PBY should be able to carry torpedos, as well as the H8K . . . they did historically.

JG53Frankyboy
09-26-2005, 05:35 PM
the H8K is able to do so http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Maraz_5SA
09-27-2005, 02:34 AM
When (if) we will have the Ju.88 A-4, a torpedo loadout would be great, too.

Actually some Ju.88 A-4/Torp were built by modifying existing A-4 with the addition of torpedo racks under the wings.

So it would not even be too un-historical...

Cheers
Maraz

JG53Frankyboy
09-27-2005, 03:01 AM
even the Ju88A4/Torp had some external and sure internal differences to the "normal" A4 - torpedo loadout for the A4 in game would be fantastic !

and it would be not the first "incorrect" loadout in the game http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

VF17_CRH
09-27-2005, 02:46 PM
They could give a torp to the SBD and Val and instant torpedo planes.

I agree. Id rather have the avenger and kate but would settle for this option.

SKULLS_Exec01
09-28-2005, 08:38 AM
I totally agree, torps loadout on more planes would help alot...
A flyable avenger would be fantasic - but will probably never happen in PF sadly.

Arm_slinger
09-28-2005, 10:08 AM
The A-20 with a wider loadout would be great as well

Enforcer572005
10-01-2005, 10:12 PM
the only dive bomber i know of that really did carry torps was the helldiver, but we dont hve that. dunno if it ever did operatinally.

Nimits
10-02-2005, 12:22 PM
I doubt it; by the time the Helldiver was in wide service, even the Avengers weren't always carrying torpedos in the anti-shipping role.

Enforcer572005
10-06-2005, 09:36 PM
what made me think of that is a photo in the manual for MS CFS2 that shows a helldiver on a CV deck being prepped for a misn, and the oridinance guys are rolling out a pair of torpedos.....one is parked next to it,and the other appears to be going to another one.
it was probably a possed photo, but it is kinda strange.

Archangel2980
10-07-2005, 08:01 AM
Are the torps even modeled correctly in this sim don't they need at least a distance of 500ft to arm themselves before impact?

WWMaxGunz
10-07-2005, 01:34 PM
Originally posted by Archangel2980:
Are the torps even modeled correctly in this sim don't they need at least a distance of 500ft to arm themselves before impact?

I used to know an Archangel on the Delphi FSF.
He was a CAF member and good brother to Rookie.

Jaws2002
10-09-2005, 07:21 AM
I want this lodout for my Fiesler Storch as well. Thx. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif
http://www.ubisoft.de/smileys/3.gif http://www.ubisoft.de/smileys/3.gif



http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v258/<FA>Jaws/Uber1_.jpg

ParachuteProne
10-09-2005, 09:06 AM
Originally posted by Enforcer572005:
Some cmpn makers are using existing planes in place of some we dont have, a few more loadouts would be useful, especially torpedos. I call this substitution "hollywoodization", like using SNJs for japanese planes, or Buchons for 109s etc.

The PBN/PBY deos not have torpedos in the loadouts, and it really needs to be able to carry 2. L0ts of combat seen in htat mode.

Bird brain has used the DB3 bomber as an SM-79, but it cant carry a torp either. One would be very useful and allow simulating the sm-79 in the antishipping mode. manditory in a malta scenario.

The P-400 doesnt carry any ordinacne, but it sure did at guadalcanal. This lack of the fuselage rack limits the misns we can simulate, since its main job there was close support.

Not a gripe, just an observation about the need for loadouts that may or may not be historical, but would be very useful.


I would like to see a torp load for the u2 so it could be used as a swordfish.

Mark

Maraz_5SA
10-11-2005, 08:17 AM
Originally posted by ParachuteProne:

I would like to see a torp load for the u2 so it could be used as a swordfish.

Mark

Surely you mean the Letov S-238 not the U-2! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

It is in the next patch's release list by Oleg... unfortunately it will be AI only too...

Maraz

ParachuteProne
10-11-2005, 06:31 PM
Originally posted by Maraz_5SA:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ParachuteProne:

I would like to see a torp load for the u2 so it could be used as a swordfish.

Mark

Surely you mean the Letov S-238 not the U-2! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

It is in the next patch's release list by Oleg... unfortunately it will be AI only too...

Maraz </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

AI is ok. Not sure what the s238 looks like but if it's more swordfishy then I'm all for it.

Mark

Nimits
10-15-2005, 12:25 AM
Originally posted by Archangel2980:
Are the torps even modeled correctly in this sim don't they need at least a distance of 500ft to arm themselves before impact?

Nope, not really. It seems like there is some sort minimum range/maxium height (I have seen a torpedo that, dropped from high and close, seemed to run under the target), but nothing even close to realistic. I'm not sure why they can't model this better, at least for the human player . . . but so far, they haven't.