PDA

View Full Version : Skinning issues...bit depth conversion...help please :)



rockgardenlove
08-16-2005, 06:13 AM
Hi,
I just started trying to skin some stuff and i have an issue. In my editing program that i use it only s saves it to a 24 bitmap(32 bit depth.) It seems that Il2 does not recognize it in this format though, so I converted it in paint and it horribly distorted the colors. Is there a way to convert the picture without messing it up too much? Thanks lots,
Rockgardenlove

Hoarmurath
08-16-2005, 06:25 AM
you should use bright, or gimp, both are free.

rockgardenlove
08-16-2005, 06:42 AM
Is there any way to stick with the program i hvae now?

BBB_Hyperion
08-16-2005, 06:58 AM
Yes when it supports 8 Bit Indexed colors for BMP(uncompressed) you can still use it. But as you noticed the color reduction isnt that good therefore i would suggest using bright or other tools that use more advanced color distribution checking than paint.

rockgardenlove
08-16-2005, 07:14 AM
I couldnt find this bright you speak of on google...can i hvae a link please?
Thanks

SeaNorris
08-16-2005, 07:47 AM
http://www.simmerspaintshop.com/colours/tools.html

rockgardenlove
08-16-2005, 09:56 AM
Woah SWEET
Thanks guys

rockgardenlove
08-16-2005, 10:19 AM
Ok, I dont know if this is exactly the right place to ask, but it only works one time. I used it once and now when i try it just flashes once and quits. whats up with this?
Thanks

SeaNorris
08-16-2005, 10:28 AM
Do you have your previous skin there too? Get rid of it if you do.

rockgardenlove
08-16-2005, 10:33 AM
Nope its gone

SeaNorris
08-16-2005, 10:35 AM
Do you have a folder with the two BRIGHT files in it?

rockgardenlove
08-16-2005, 10:43 AM
I do...The ms dos batch and the programs...nothing has changed since i first used it successfully. I even redownloaded it.

SeaNorris
08-16-2005, 10:51 AM
http://www.simmerspaintshop.com/colours/tools.html

Get 'Hunhunters Bright Batch Files'

Put them in their own folder, put the .bmp in there that is 3.00MB then click one of them, if it just flashes, click the other.

rockgardenlove
08-16-2005, 10:55 AM
Same thing happens...If i posted it could zou do it for me?
Please?

SeaNorris
08-16-2005, 10:59 AM
mmm, you have MSN? If so add me: davidmnuk@yahoo.co.uk and sort it out from there

EDIT* If you dont just post up here and I'll do it.

Taylortony
08-16-2005, 12:18 PM
See both of these links

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/45410763/m/5641051243

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/45410763/m/2231079643


should sort your problem out.