PDA

View Full Version : !!beginner question!! please help



Midnight1445
09-28-2005, 07:21 PM
this is probably an extremely stupid question but i couldnt help asking. on the first mission of 1939 im required to travel to am18 from kiel, but after i plotted my course and put it on max time compression i noticed it was taking an incredible amount of time, is there any way to speed this process up or am i doing something wrong? it really looks like an amazing game but after sitting there for about 30 minutes and not even being a quarter of the way there i got discouraged. thanks in advance.

p.s: is there any way to adjust the resolution and what are some good mods yall would suggest

Kaleun1961
09-28-2005, 07:32 PM
Try Wolfie's Tweek Pack. It allows you to adjust time compression and a few other things. Get it at the Real U-boot site, in the SH3 donwloads section, general mods:

http://www.mpgtext.net/u-boot/

Kaleun1961
09-28-2005, 07:42 PM
The most valuable tool for installing and removing mods is the Jonesoft Mod installer. Get it in the SH3 essential downloads section. Another very useful program/mod is SH3 Commander, which adds extra functionality to the game and allows you to work with your crew and select one of three fatigue models.

Midnight1445
09-28-2005, 07:58 PM
thanks a ton! but i was kinda wondering, is it normal to have to travel that far and for it to take that long? cause i got on a mission in 1940 and it seemed about a quarter of the length thanks again

Midnight1445
09-28-2005, 08:03 PM
also seems before i even come close to my objective my crew is completely trashed, whole thing just feels like im missing a major detail or doing something horribly wrong

bunkerratt
09-28-2005, 08:05 PM
i do agree with kaleun the jsgme is a awsome tool for sh3 as well as sh3 commander...as far as the resoultion issue there is a program but it will affect some key functions within the game ...good hunting

Midnight1445
09-28-2005, 08:12 PM
couldnt find the commander mod

WilhelmSchulz.-
09-28-2005, 08:17 PM
Originally posted by Midnight1445:
thanks a ton! but i was kinda wondering, is it normal to have to travel that far and for it to take that long? cause i got on a mission in 1940 and it seemed about a quarter of the length thanks again Well in 1940 you have the Biscay bases so your closer to your patrol zone. That is unless you got a IX. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Kaleun1961
09-28-2005, 08:54 PM
Get it here:

http://www.beerymod.com/

Kaleun1961
09-28-2005, 08:56 PM
I press "Ctrl + F8" to get my frame rate. In higher time compression, if your frame rate drops below 10 fps, then back down to the next level. I can sometimes get up to 4096, but usually 2048 is my highest, where I get about 20 fps. I'm running this game on a high end system, so time compression is not a problem for me most of the time.

Kaleun1961
09-28-2005, 08:58 PM
If I am in a type 7 boat, I usually sail out to my patrol zone at 10-12 knots, depending on how far I have to go. In a type 2, I usually cruise at about 7-8 knots. You must be very careful in those little boats, or you will be stranded by a lack of diesel.