PDA

View Full Version : Summary of the U-Boat types?

Giantsfan24
03-12-2005, 05:32 PM
Since I have very little knowledge of U-Boats(I could spot one it it were driving down the street) can someone writing a short little summary of each U-Boat and maybe it's stregths and weaknesses. As I have said before, I'm one of the mainstream audience UBI wanted to attact with this game.

Giantsfan24
03-12-2005, 05:32 PM
Since I have very little knowledge of U-Boats(I could spot one it it were driving down the street) can someone writing a short little summary of each U-Boat and maybe it's stregths and weaknesses. As I have said before, I'm one of the mainstream audience UBI wanted to attact with this game.

JG27_Arklight
03-12-2005, 05:36 PM
www.uboat.net (http://www.uboat.net) has a wealth of info and pictures.

Very informative site.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

NastyHyena
03-12-2005, 05:53 PM
Type II: Short-range coastal boat. Slow, limited depth, limited torpedo load (3+2).
Smaller target and more agile than larger boats.

Type VII: Mid-range boat, overall average in speed and maneuvering abilites. Heavier loadout than Type II, also has a rear-facing torpedo tube, and an 8.8cm deck gun (no relation to 8.8cm Flak). Jack of all trades boat.

Type IX: Long range boat. Larger and less agile than previous boats. Faster surface speed with longer endurance. Heavier torpedo load, larger surface armament with multiple Flak guns, and a 10.5cm deck gun versus the 8.8cm on the Type VII.

Type XXI: 'Elektro Boot.' Fast on the surface, faster submerged(!). Heavy torpedo load (6+22) using six foreward tubes. Significantly increased underwater endurace and stealthiness compared to other uboats. Limited surface attack abilities (no deck gun, 2 flak positions). Submerged attack ability BELOW periscope depth through the use of active sonar system.