PDA

View Full Version : finding my way home



gothkrieger
01-21-2011, 09:43 PM
Does everybody have trouble finding those grass runways in Russia?? Too bad they were not dirt or something, makes it hard to see at a distance. Don't know how many times I had to fly over it before I could finally land on it. Hey at least I land more often than bounce and pancake it.

DKoor
01-22-2011, 12:50 AM
Hmmm... wonder why those fields doesn't boast something simple like few lights (night) or some smoke (day)... I guess this is where this sim is harder than RL http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif .

Ba5tard5word
01-22-2011, 01:01 AM
Worst is the desert runways where all you get is the weird T thing, and you have to guess where it's ok to land without going into the area that looks just like the flat area but is apparently so bumpy it makes your plane tip over.

Col_SandersLite
01-22-2011, 01:04 AM
That's not because it's desert, but is consistant with the "test" airstrips that can be placed by mission makers. This will happen when you go off of them, regardless of terrain underneath.

M_Gunz
01-22-2011, 04:48 AM
In FMB I place 2+ AA around the home strip just to help. But that's when I'm using FMB. The dots stand out and can be targeted.

Always I 'call home' and ask Victor for a vector then use the high zoom to find the strip which to my eyes is very hard to see. Generally it's fly over along the direction of the strip while noting my heading and do a 180 a ways past, use zoom again and one time might get it right coming back in time to slow enough to land.

Romanator21
01-22-2011, 11:55 AM
Hmmm... wonder why those fields doesn't boast something simple like few lights (night) or some smoke (day)... I guess this is where this sim is harder than RL .

I imagine it wouldn't be easy to find a grass strip at all. Smoke and lights attract unwanted attention.

M2morris
01-22-2011, 01:15 PM
Sorry I had to: http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...8asw&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWi8AHY8asw&feature=related)

PhantomKira
01-22-2011, 01:56 PM
What's our vector, Victor?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fVq4_HhBK8Y

jensenpark
01-22-2011, 10:45 PM
In soviet Russia, runways find you!

(sorry, lame...I admit)

Sillius_Sodus
01-22-2011, 11:10 PM
Originally posted by jensenpark:
In soviet Russia, runways find you!

(sorry, lame...I admit)

almost as lame as......all your runways are belong to us.... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

M2morris
01-23-2011, 06:41 PM
Originally posted by gothkrieger:
Does everybody have trouble finding those grass runways in Russia?? Too bad they were not dirt or something, makes it hard to see at a distance. Don't know how many times I had to fly over it before I could finally land on it. Hey at least I land more often than bounce and pancake it.


You can use these ground markers if you are making your own mission in full mission builder. If you don't, or if you are someplace that doesn't have anything to mark the field than its just hard to find those airstrips.
But these things are around 180 or 190 on the objects list:

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b206/planegeek/il2fb2011-01-2319-28-33-55.jpg
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b206/planegeek/il2fb2011-01-2319-20-59-30.jpg


You can also put little lights along the edges of the runway. I don't remember were those are on the objects list.

mortoma
01-23-2011, 09:31 PM
The only time I have trouble finding grass runways in Russia is when it's a low lying field and there is that ground fog present. But even then I can find them and land. So no, it's not a trouble for me. I wonder how much graphics power and your resolution settings affect how hard they are to see. And of course which Nvidia or ATI driver you use and other various settings. I generally have always found my field though. The least of my worries usually. Unless you are a realism/immersion junkie, you can always quit the mission in the air. But I guess some of you wouldn't hear of that.

M_Gunz
01-23-2011, 10:20 PM
When I use the same field/map a few times I get to know the features to some degree. It's something to pay attention to, what the ground looks like from above when you take off and come back. And funny enough, that's what you do IRL! Especially when IRL you don't have someone to tell you the small field you call home is 220 degrees from where you are ATM.

A nearby patch of forest, town, waterway, road.. they all add up or should if not the first time then later on. What heading does the strip lie along? Didn't you notice that when you took off? You should. It should be a routine check.

gothkrieger
01-24-2011, 10:49 AM
Thanks, been paying attention to surroundings, landmarks to start approaches from, its been working fairly well. A person almost has to do it that way because you canít really see the runway until you are within a certain distance, even when viewed by zoom view.