PDA

View Full Version : 402m: Disappearing Opponents and Black Screen

leitmotiv
11-01-2005, 12:04 PM
PAC FIGHTERS merged has been purring along like six cats, but I have run into some trouble after installing 402m. The biggest annoyance has been disappearing opponents. I'm a veteran Oleg simmer and I know very well you can lose an opponent you are chasing quite easily, but, since 402m, this has gotten to be a bit ridiculous. This morning I was haring after an H75 in an 109E-4 at a distance of, maybe, 1000 ft. The H75 dropped its starboard wing and disappeared into thin air. I flipped upside down and took a good look, dipped to port, dipped to starboard. Poof! Gone like a pixie! Then my screen went black for about ten seconds and came back right in the middle of the action. The black screen was definitely something new. Never had this happen with any Oleg designs. Now I'm convinced I'm not "seeing things." Any comments?

dieg777
11-01-2005, 12:21 PM
The black screen occurs naturally in game to simulate blackouts due to G - but Ill assume that you are aware of this and it wasnt this, so it looks like your graphics card is at fault. Make sure that you are not overclocked. check that the cooling fan is working. check that the card is seated properly and all connections snug. lastly check your drivers and update to latest for your card, then rerun il2 setup for your graphics
good luck

leitmotiv
11-01-2005, 12:28 PM
Thanks, dieg777. Definitely was not the blackout effect. Do not believe graphics card (Radeon 9800XT) to blame because PFm was belting along sublimely until 402m, but, to be on the safe side, I'll check drivers.

Achilles_NZ
11-03-2005, 03:55 PM
A couple times now while chaseing down H8K1 Flyingboats Ive had them dissapear on me completely. Starting from approx. 600 meters away, only to reappear again at approx. 250 - 300 meters. Quite irritateing when trying to line up for the kill shot.