PDA

View Full Version : Secondaries In GW



Fish40
11-20-2006, 04:17 AM
I never saw this in the stock game, or RUB, so I can't say that this is a GW exclusive. I made contact with a convoy, and was immediately attacked by a Flower. After several depth charge passes, I managed to raise to periscope depth to find him 350m directly astern.

I fired a stern fish at him which impacted his bow. He did not go down, but was afire at the bow. As he vacated the area, two Black Swans came raceing in to relieve him.

The Flower was a fair distance away, when I heard a great explosion, and my officer told me "She's Going Down"! Raising my scope, I discovered a huge fireball where the Flower was, and saw it's burning hulk slip beneath the waves. The deck fire must have ignited his magazine, and did him in! WAY KOOL! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Like I said earlier, I never saw this in the stock game, or RUB, but it was great. I'm dying for GWX!! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

Fish40
11-20-2006, 04:17 AM
I never saw this in the stock game, or RUB, so I can't say that this is a GW exclusive. I made contact with a convoy, and was immediately attacked by a Flower. After several depth charge passes, I managed to raise to periscope depth to find him 350m directly astern.

I fired a stern fish at him which impacted his bow. He did not go down, but was afire at the bow. As he vacated the area, two Black Swans came raceing in to relieve him.

The Flower was a fair distance away, when I heard a great explosion, and my officer told me "She's Going Down"! Raising my scope, I discovered a huge fireball where the Flower was, and saw it's burning hulk slip beneath the waves. The deck fire must have ignited his magazine, and did him in! WAY KOOL! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Like I said earlier, I never saw this in the stock game, or RUB, but it was great. I'm dying for GWX!! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

Wijbrandus
11-20-2006, 08:51 AM
I've seen several secondary explosions. Not just on warships either. I try not to kill destroyers since they aren't normally worth 'wasting' a torpedo on.

I have only seen the secondary explosions though when the ship was already "going down". I have yet to see one explode first, and then get recorded as a kill. That's interesting to hear, and I'll be looking for it now.

GW is supposed to make ships not sink from fire and superstructure damage, only through flooding. At least that's my understanding of their support docs. So I'm not sure how the fire would have done it, if my understanding is correct.

tuddley3
11-20-2006, 10:47 AM
I saw a secondary explosion the other day with a KSQ Cargo ship, and WOW was it a duzy. I should have taken a screenie for the Comp. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m65/tuddley3/SH3%20Sigs/SubsimForumSigGWXUBWA.jpg
Proud Member Of The Kreigsmarine 4th Flotilla (http://4thflotilla.proboards49.com/index.cgi) LuS Strelow's Personnel File (http://www.geocities.com/cowboy_todd68/temporarypreviewfile.html?1168682938890/Strelow.html?1168517823046)
Community Manual (http://www.communitymanuals.com/shiii/index.php?title=Main_Page)
VikingGrandad's JSGME Instructions (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/9091085392/m/3461029123)
Tuddley's FileFront Page (http://hosted.filefront.com/Tuddley3) - Includes Randomization Pack with Intro Screens & Pinup Girls ! ! !

Bootsmann0815
11-20-2006, 05:04 PM
T think the secondaries are caused by the GW/NYGM damage model, which takes flooding into account to a large extent. If the initial short caused only peripheral damage like the bow of the Flower, it may take the water streaming into the hull some time to reach the critical compartments such as the engine room. (Yes, the GW/NYGM damage model is sufficiently detailed/sophisticatd to model these small differences, also taking sea stste - wave height - into account when calculating the amount of flooding within a certain time span). However the 30km rule remains unaffected by this (damaged vessel's complete self-repair after leaving the vicinity of your boat).<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Use the vertical!