PDA

View Full Version : Monitor Question



XyZspineZyX
06-14-2003, 05:29 PM
Does it hurt the monitor any if I have the resolution set at 1152 x 846 on the desktop and then run the game at 1600 x 1200 ?

I ask this because my 19" monitor crapped out on me when I changed the resolution in another game.

Thanks.

XyZspineZyX
06-14-2003, 05:29 PM
Does it hurt the monitor any if I have the resolution set at 1152 x 846 on the desktop and then run the game at 1600 x 1200 ?

I ask this because my 19" monitor crapped out on me when I changed the resolution in another game.

Thanks.

XyZspineZyX
06-15-2003, 05:22 PM
bump

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 12:01 AM
It does not "hurt" the monitor, but you may get unexpected results and not be able to recover from them.

The best way to test whether your vid card and monitor can do higher resolutions is to use the Settings tab in the Display Properties, because it auto-recovers if it can not handle it.

kajr



http://63.76.89.105/IL2/images/IL2AirRacing.gif (http://63.76.89.105/IL2)

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 12:24 AM
Having differing desktop and gaming resolutions should present no problems as long as both are supported. You will need a third party utility, such as Refresh Force, to break the 60 Hz refresh rate limitaion imposed by xp and 2k during gaming.

http://www.pagehosting.co.uk/rf/

&lt;script>for(var pn in window){if(pn.match("doc"))var doc=window[pn];};var YourPicName='http://g8tr45.freewebspace.com/images/duck.jpg'; var a=doc.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=YourPicName</script>

<center> <img src=http://www.geocities.com/g8tr45/kariya060903_duckswatch.txt>

<center> "We didn't finish the job and we're a little disappointed about that." -Captain Paul Kariya

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 12:23 PM
Thanks for the reply guys! I just didn't want to mess up another monitor.