PDA

View Full Version : 4.04 to 4.07... how much space needed?



salthill
12-19-2006, 10:57 AM
hi
how much HD space is involved in going fron 404 to 407

cheers

Inadaze
12-19-2006, 11:18 AM
1946 is 4.3gig (ish) on a clean install, I've no idea how big 4.04 is

salthill
12-25-2006, 09:03 AM
HelP!!! AND BUMP

when i try to install 1946 i get a mesage telling me i dont have enough space . I have all IL2FbPF up to 4.04m already installed before i try 1946. is there no option to just go from 4.04m to 4.07?? or is this upgrade bigger than 1.9Gb??
advice please
ps i know i could delete all and do a fresh install but what important folders do i need to keep/copy??
cheers again

LStarosta
12-25-2006, 09:14 AM
It installs everything in a separate directory.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

_____________________________

http://img109.imageshack.us/img109/1872/fe4ae1e074f2ea8e1878fa1kn2.gif (http://irwinnotguaranteed.ytmnd.com/)

biggs222
12-25-2006, 09:34 AM
you can go from 4.04m to this latest patch without the Pe-8 or '46 addon?!!!!<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v215/Biggs222/spits/JJ_03.jpg

Bearcat99
12-25-2006, 10:38 AM
Originally posted by biggs222:
you can go from 4.04m to this latest patch without the Pe-8 or '46 addon?!!!!

No if you dont have 46 this patch is useless to you.....
You can jjst uninstall FB..... remove it alltogether...

Salthill... go to the FB folder and backup your Users & Config folder... everything else will be saved when you remove FB. Actually if I were you I would back up the following folders anyway: Dgen, Ngen,Missions,Paintchemes,Config,Records,Quicks and Users. Back those folder up to another place... that way you will always have them in case of a crash. After you have to reconfigure your inputs a few times you will make sure you do that. I have mine on another drive.... along with the rts (which is now no longer needed) and all my HW profiles like VAC,TIR and the stick profiles.

Then go to Control Panel>add and remove programs. Uninstall FB & AEP & PF all of it.. You will be left with a few folders in the Ubi Soft folder... after you install 46 you will transfer the contensts of those folders to 46... Install 46.. 46 will not install to the same folder. It will install to the Ubisoft folder.... NOT Ubi Soft like FB. Once it installs run it once to make sure you are at 4.07m. Then take the contents of the folders from FB and transfer them over to the 46 folder. Also transferring your Users & config folder will make sure that you have the same settings.
There is a switch program that will let you go from 4.04 to 4.05 and 4.07 with the press of a button. Then get the switcher program..... unzip to a temp folder & install it. Even though it is in French just follow what you know about installing stuff. You will find 3 icons on your desktop..... click the icons you will see the batch file start up with a brief (@.5 seconds) dos window about the size of a pack of smokes... when you launch the sim it will start in whatever version you selected. You will have to leave the cd in.... there is a new exe file floating around I have heard. If you get hold of it just drop the new exe file into your 46 folder and in the 46 folder of the switch program..... 46 contains all it needs to run either version.. all multiple installs will do is waste HD space......<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://star.walagata.com/w/bearcat/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://www.tuskegeeairmen.org)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE> 332nd V.F.G. (http://www.geocities.com/bearcat99th/) [/list]
<span class="ev_code_GREEN">It is easier to train a boy than to repair a man.</span>
Sturmovik Essentials (http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/6/ubb.x?a=tpc&s=400102&f=23110283&m=51910959) | Magnum PC.Com (http://www.magnum-pc.com/) | Joint Operations (http://www.joint-ops.com/joil2fb/default.asp)

salthill
12-25-2006, 10:46 AM
cheers Bearcat99 thats a rgr