PDA

View Full Version : Control Difficulties

Ishmael_Herman
04-08-2007, 11:33 AM
I am finding it extremely difficult to line up a firing solution in this game.

I am an old veteran of combat flight simulations so I understand the principles of deflection shooting, etc. My problem, I fear, may be joystick related (I have a very old Logitech Force stick). My experience is that, even the smallest joystick inputs seem to translate into wild, wide-ranging movements of the aircraft nose, making it almost impossible for me to get the enemy to stay inside the crosshairs.

I have two questions:
#1. Is this normal???
Other players seem able to line up firing solutions with a lot more ease than I do. Movies I have seen on YouTube of this game show a much smoother firing pattern than what I am able to achieve.

#2. Is there some setting I can put into the joystick curves that will improve my situation.

I have tried playing with the joystick curves but have not experienced an appreciable difference. Right now, my input curve is almost flat. The numbers I have are...

PITCH: 0 1 2 3 4 8 21 36 60 100
Deadband: 20
Filtering: 0.4

ROLL: 1 2 3 5 8 13 21 42 66 100
Filtering: 0.1

I suspect the filtering and deadband settings cause more trouble then good so I'll be experimenting with those again this afternoon.

Any help GREATLY appreciated!!!!

Ishmael_Herman
04-08-2007, 11:33 AM
I am finding it extremely difficult to line up a firing solution in this game.

I am an old veteran of combat flight simulations so I understand the principles of deflection shooting, etc. My problem, I fear, may be joystick related (I have a very old Logitech Force stick). My experience is that, even the smallest joystick inputs seem to translate into wild, wide-ranging movements of the aircraft nose, making it almost impossible for me to get the enemy to stay inside the crosshairs.

I have two questions:
#1. Is this normal???