PDA

View Full Version : Map Errors - oleg/ubi do you still want us to report ?



XyZspineZyX
06-27-2003, 02:37 AM
S! Oleg

Working on the Scorched Earth mission generator for Forgotten Battles i get down to the fine detail on all maps.

I have found a small number of errors on these maps. In particular railway lines that approach a bridge - but it is a road bridge instead of a railway bridge and no trains can cross.

A defect in the bottom of the Kursk map which destroys the road and railway lines and will not allow cars and trains to pass through it.

Anyway let me know if you want me to tell you about the small number of errors that i come across.

ianisles@iprimus.com.au

Best wishes

RAF74 Taipan

http://raf74.5u.com/cgi-bin/framed/1498/tiger_WHT.jpg

XyZspineZyX
06-27-2003, 02:37 AM
S! Oleg

Working on the Scorched Earth mission generator for Forgotten Battles i get down to the fine detail on all maps.

I have found a small number of errors on these maps. In particular railway lines that approach a bridge - but it is a road bridge instead of a railway bridge and no trains can cross.

A defect in the bottom of the Kursk map which destroys the road and railway lines and will not allow cars and trains to pass through it.

Anyway let me know if you want me to tell you about the small number of errors that i come across.

ianisles@iprimus.com.au

Best wishes

RAF74 Taipan

http://raf74.5u.com/cgi-bin/framed/1498/tiger_WHT.jpg

XyZspineZyX
06-27-2003, 04:00 AM
Taipan, please post them, I would love to see them in case I hit something similar. I too have found some things that will cause a mission to fail to perform with disasterous results.

For example, on the Kuban map on the road just west of town Erivanskaya ( x = 124km , y = 110km ) there is a building on the road that causes tanks (at least 4 x T60s) to be unable to go around. They stay there for hours bumping into the building. There are others that I know of too.

I would recommend not depending on vehicles to complete waypoints when traveling on roads near towns and cities unless you test the route first, watching their progress on mini~map while sitting on airfield in cockpit with 8x time, and using static cameras to see a problem up close when a problem is found. I am starting to force tanks into cross country with many waypoints and to stay out of forests (not a bad idea anyway, Ardennes forest notwithstanding).

PS:: Some may be affected by this:: at least for my compouter/video, only when working FB under OpenGL do I see the lines connecting waypoints and how they are automatically calculated to go around lakes, get on bridges, etc.... These lines (for me) do not show up under DirectX. It took me several weeks working under DirectX to finally notice this when I tried OpenGL.

XyZspineZyX
06-27-2003, 11:37 AM
S!

Here are three that i quickly refound.

Kursk map.
grid reference 86500 21300 Weired wiggly square 1km x 1km destroys the railway that goes through it. A road is running north south through the middle and this is unaffected but it stops the railway going east west.


Stalingrad.

Railway bridge @ 110,000 100700. Very crucial bridge! Bridge is a very long railway bridge but even though the lead up to it is railway lines, the actual bridge is a road bridge. Consequence the railway doesnt work.

Kursk Map

grid reference 79500 23700

road leads into railway bridge. This causes the roadway to fail!


I will try and post more as i find them.

Also if oleg and his team read this - is there anyway to fix the large stations in the 5 new maps?? The large stations are not the same as the original stations in the original maps.

In the original maps the stations were wonderful and had large grey parking lots. These are great for putting trucks in. Starting missions in and staging troops through. The station is then seen as a great target.

In the 5 new maps the railway stations have no car parks and it looks like they have been forgotten or they have run out of time making the maps.

Did this have anything to do with the railway square which was visable at distance in the old maps?


Best wishes


RAF74 Taipan


http://raf74.5u.com/cgi-bin/framed/1498/tiger_WHT.jpg

XyZspineZyX
06-28-2003, 11:06 AM
Kuban map

Krasnoddor

Railway line

stops at 178700 135100

recommences at 178300 134700

there is a break in the railway line which appears to be continuous. The line should be joined together.

RAF74 Taipan

XyZspineZyX
07-02-2003, 12:18 AM
*bump*

Yes, I agree, I hope the map errors can be addressed in the current patch, or the follow-up.

<center>http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_henry_blake.jpg (http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/)</center>

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 11:24 AM
S!

Next problem.

Smolensk Map

grid reference 129400 13000

two roads lead into a railway bridge. Consequnetly the road traffic will not go across bridge.

Also in the Kuban map.

The base at 101000 164000 is sitting on an island with no bridges to connect it to the rest of the country side preventing resupply or attack.

More errors as i find them.

Best wishes

RAF74 Taipan

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 12:36 PM
Crimea map

Road leads onto rail bridge and not road bridge.

Grid reference is 135500 156100

cheers

RAF74 Taipan

XyZspineZyX
07-10-2003, 04:03 AM
This is a minor error.

Moscow map.
grid reference
42700 159300

road leading from airfield towards main road stops short at railway line in the middle of nowehere. (no siding or anything around - no other road nearby)

(Looks like road is incomplete or not joined to main road as probably originally designed.

cheers

RAF74 Taipan

XyZspineZyX
07-14-2003, 04:54 AM
^

<center>http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_henry_blake.jpg (http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/)</center>