PDA

View Full Version : More Newb questions please forgive...

pmckelvy
01-20-2005, 09:15 PM
Hey Guys,
Sorry if these are total newb questions but I'm not a pilot and I'm trying to improve my skills before I go online and look like an a$$.

1. I understand trim but, when actually dogfighting is a good pilot constantly adjusting trim to increase performance or should I not worry about it and just get good position. I think I'm getting good at getting on the AI's six but I just wonder if I could be doing something a bit better.

2. When flying offline what is a good time to know when I can come meet you grognards adn not be an embarassment. 2 or 3 kills a mission? It's not so much a pride thing as much as I'd like to join a suadron and not take up someone's time answering questions and skills I should already know. But I would love to know some more tricks/tips on dogfighting and/or being a good wingman.

3. When I merge PF with FB+aep I get a noticable chug at low alt but if I install sep I can run FB at the best possible settings and PF at almost best and both run fine. New drivers make it worse. Is this normal. Without technical info I know this is a general question but just wondering if this is a common prob. I'll upgrade to more than a gig RAM when I can but I have to kids and, well... you guys know.

So anyway guys thanks in advance because I know you guys are helpfull. Any advice on the performace issues of the various patches would be helpfull to as well, as I'm skitish on downloading them yet as the game is great now and I don't want to degrade it.

Mac

pmckelvy
01-20-2005, 09:15 PM
Hey Guys,
Sorry if these are total newb questions but I'm not a pilot and I'm trying to improve my skills before I go online and look like an a$$.