PDA

View Full Version : Ditching, A Simple Change for BoB please....

LEBillfish
05-23-2006, 07:35 AM
Quite simply, when an AI or Live Piloted plane "ditches" either on water or on the ground, it is instnatly counted as a loss regardless of if the pilot bails or not.

Though I'm sure real life some could be repaired, in most cases I'd assume a prop strike contributed damaged engines and drivelines (even the shock of a plane hitting the ground could do this)....As well as frames flex and bend weakening them, bolts stretch, skins wrinkle and buckle.......All in all essentially, quite often a loss.

Naturally as well it grows tiresome live pilots ditching, to sit out a coop as well.

Thanks, just a thought.

WTE_Galway
05-23-2006, 11:57 PM
to be honest(although i do it myself a bit offline when damaged) sliding in for a wheels up crashlanding on the runway should at the very least count as a plane lost

MucusG
05-25-2006, 06:11 AM
I agree totally.

As a low quality pilot I make some abysmal landings still. You know, rolling the fuselage down the runway with useful stuff like wings and undercarriage scatterring to the four winds.

Never adds to the lost plane count though. I think some of the modern restoration people would think twice before attempting to restore what I "land" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Arm_slinger
05-25-2006, 07:57 AM
Seems a bit counterproductive to me. The RAF couldn't afford to chuck away fighter just like that. Some that were repaired were never right again- oil pressures low, rough engine etc.

Why loose the aircraft if it can be repaired? The fighters could be shot up and treated pretty bad, belly it in, and be flying again in a few days.

I'd like to see it so that if (if the missions are dynamic) the aircraft ditched, it is missing from the squadron until it is repaired again. So rather than having 20 fighters scramble, there are only 19.

Unless of course that is what you meant?