PDA

View Full Version : network with vista

Jediteo
09-13-2007, 12:50 PM
I just bought a new laptop computer, and it is my first time using vista. I can get my computer connected the the Home network, and can use the internet and such. My desktop can see and browse my shared files, but I cannot detect the desktop, but I did so briefly.

I have norton internet security 2007 on the laptop, and no firewall at all on the desktop

triad773
09-13-2007, 12:54 PM
Not sure if I understand the question:

do you mean you cannot see the Desktop on a networked computer? or

you cannot see the Desktop of your laptop (from another computer)?

I would think its a matter of setting your Desktop folder to share.

Jediteo
09-13-2007, 12:56 PM
ok sorry for my lack of clarity. The problem is file sharing, I can browse and use the files on the laptop from the desktop, but cannot do the same thing the other way. Don't know what happend, it work a few minutes ago, before I restarted the computer.

triad773
09-13-2007, 01:00 PM
Maybe set up an IP range that is acceptable for the Firewall - I have some familiarity with Vista's firewall, but that concept is from my use of Zonealarm firewall.

Once you get the Desktop folder accessible again (assuming you can,) suggest making a short cut to it so it won't get inaccessible again.

Besides the confirming the Sharing of the Desktop folder, not sure what else the gremlin could be.

Jediteo
09-13-2007, 01:06 PM
Originally posted by triad773:
Maybe set up an IP range that is acceptable for the Firewall - I have some familiarity with Vista's firewall, but that concept is from my use of Zonealarm firewall.

Once you get the Desktop folder accessible again (assuming you can,) suggest making a short cut to it so it won't get inaccessible again.

Besides the confirming the Sharing of the Desktop folder, not sure what else the gremlin could be.