PDA

View Full Version : When is a cigar just a cigar???

dirtdigger54
07-07-2008, 11:48 AM
I'm relatively new to the sim, and I might not be qualified to make any assumptions or determinations of this sim, but I have seen something I'm just not sure how to classify:

The growing debate over mods, has been a bit of a surprise to me. I'm seeing reactions of players (virtual Pilots??) here that I'm not exactly understanding. I realize if you spend countless hours doing something one gets a bit wound up when things change-- to a degree. But some of the reactions seem to be a bit "excessive." I think we all would like to live out a fantasy of being a WW2 pilot, but the truth is it isn't going to happen. My kill to death ratio proves that.... It might even be nice to be the best at a sim that is as realistic as possible,but that won't happen either in my honest opinion. Truth is the pucker factor isn't there... Real bullets and real threat to your life doesn't allow it. The rest is all technicalities. Having said all this, what difference does it really make if someone mods the game or not, flys better than everyone else or not??? In the grand scale of things, as much as I LOVE this sim, playing it or not doesn't get me any closer to the real world stuff like a morgage and my car payment.

I don't in any way think morally on this sim... it is supposed to be fun and enjoyable. When it isn't it is time to move on. Of course like always I am speaking for myself here....

But I'm willing to realize that the moderators are not paid a dime for doing what they do... for US!!! Kinda selfless if you ask me. To attack anyone over a game is just plain silly and demonstrates poor "sportspersonship".

As for all the moders??? what do they get for trying to give us a more realistic game? Which by the way was all but abandoned by the powers that be.

As I said, I speak for no one but myself....Which is, ironically, the very basis of the independant pilot.

DD

BSS_Goat