PDA

View Full Version : Hopefully this will be fixed before release...



calvin237
10-12-2007, 02:29 PM
Or were gonna be waiting...
http://www.pro-g.co.uk/news/12-10-2007-6670.html

the_assassin_07
10-12-2007, 02:47 PM
Ignore it, it's gonna fit one way or another.

RetiredHatch
10-12-2007, 02:48 PM
Means they gotta compress alot of info http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif which causes alot of bad problems come game time

Greenman2000
10-12-2007, 03:03 PM
it should be finished by the time of the release xbox look worster off http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

Phreaky_McGeek
10-12-2007, 03:11 PM
That's what they said about GTAIV, but, hey, they even broke exclusivity on the PS3. I doubt something like this will delay the game.

AirRon_2K7
10-12-2007, 03:13 PM
Speaking probably from a PS3 lovin (and not wanting it to be delayed) perspective, and from a realistic one too, I think the xbox is looking worse for wear, I mean if you're having trouble filling it in... meh, Nevermind... I trust UBI will sort this out, <span class="ev_code_RED">contents removed</span>

Sorry Couch http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/sadeyes.gif ... *rephrases it* I trust UBI will sort this out, otherwise they're gonna have a lot of unhappy customers http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/shady.gif Nvm, I'd still buy it regardless http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif
please keep posts in good taste

GuStick93
10-12-2007, 03:24 PM
<span class="ev_code_RED">content removed</span>

please keep posts in good taste

mynameismyself
10-12-2007, 03:30 PM
Originally posted by GuStick93:
<span class="ev_code_RED">content removed</span>

please keep posts in good taste

Don't say you didn't know THAT?!

Actually she's just computer generated image. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

saros.exe
10-12-2007, 03:51 PM
Smells like another console war coming http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Howler13
10-12-2007, 05:42 PM
I've hard about the PS3 memory issue before. Elder Scrolls 4 was supposed to be a PS3 launch tutle, but was delayed, because Bethesda said something about Blu-Ray requiring memory to be done in a very awkward and time-consuming way. That is most likely the reason behind alot of games coming out for 360 before PS3, as well as some slipshod ports: the devs don't want to spend the time to do it properly.

As far as the 360 problem, you can't say you couldn't see this coming; if not now with AC, some time next year with another big title. With game DEMOS reaching nearly 2 GB (the Ratchet and Clank Future demo was 1.6), it's inevitable that 8 GB for a game just won't cut it.

Hopefully, both problems are resolved and don't result in any delays.

max3838
10-12-2007, 05:46 PM
I'm scared about the memory problem, does that mean I have to buy a PS3 now cuz the xbox360 is going to suck, I hope not http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

Is there a way they can get more memory storage for the 360, or something... (Not really a tech person).

tevel3
10-12-2007, 05:48 PM
well they got themself a problem.
they can't split the game into 2 cds coz the game is a sandbox kind of game.
it's non-linear game, so they can't cut the game in the middle, or they can and i dont have any clue because i'm not a game developer, but still pretty obvious they can't coz it's a sandbox game.

saros.exe
10-12-2007, 05:50 PM
But couldn't you kinda release the game on 2 DVDs for xbox and then let the console copy the contents of both on xbox's HDD and play it from there? Dunno, I don't own one

zeldapsychology
10-12-2007, 05:57 PM
I thought ports from 360 to PS3 would be beyond great from the whole discussion of the Cell proccessor and power of the PS3 and yet ports didn't look any better than on 360. I am shocked there are problems with Assassin's Creed since we know from an interview that THEY HAVE WORKING ON BOTH AT THE SAME TIME! So this issue sounds silly. I agree though with the 2GB demo and at times feel certain PS3 games mostly like Nintendo there exclusives will blow away the 3rd parties. :-)

RetiredHatch
10-12-2007, 05:58 PM
Well if 360 came with an HD-DVD drive like th PS3 came with a Blu-Ray drive then they could use HD-DVD's and not have a problem however since not everyone is going to have hard drives and not everyone is going to be getting an HD-DVD drive they can't put the game on HD-DVDs and they can't just copy some compressed memory to the hard-drive so Microsoft kind of dug themself in a hole there by not just giving people some of the more important features like Hard drives and HD-DVD drives

Oh and the reason ports have been less then stellar on the PS3 is because developing for the 360 and developing for the PS3 is two different things entirely infact the PS3 is more difficult so they can't just copy code onto a PS disc and call it done they really have to start from the ground up again almost and well it's not easy http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif to say the least

tevel3
10-12-2007, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by saros.exe:
But couldn't you kinda release the game on 2 DVDs for xbox and then let the console copy the contents of both on xbox's HDD and play it from there? Dunno, I don't own one

they can't dude, it's a sandbox type of game. u choose where to go when to go and when to kill and when to kill the main targets.
if it was like any other game that has levels, u complete the first level u step up to the next level and so on, and then when u reach to the fifth level for example the game order u to swith disc to continue.
but ac is unlike any other game, u choose what to do and when, so they can't slipt the game into 2 cds, becuase the entire game in 1 level and u choose what to do whenever u want.

BTOG46
10-12-2007, 10:09 PM
The type of game has nothing to do with whether it can install to a hard disc, whether it came on one disc or ten, the problem is that if they did that, only those with a hard disc could play the game, so all the core owners would be excluded, and the 20gb drive on the normal 360 is pretty tiny by Pc standards too.
Microsoft wouldn't like the thought of missing out on sales, that's the main reason for trying to get it all on one disc, if all 360's had hard discs there would be NO panic, multiple disc installs are common with Pc games, and have been for years, and once installed you don't have to switch discs like you seem to think.
All 360's should have come with a hard disc, it was obvious that sooner or later the games would get too big for one dvd, now it looks like they may have to think of future games having hard discs as a requirement in order to play them, either that or HD-DVD.

max3838
10-12-2007, 10:18 PM
Originally posted by BTOG46:
The type of game has nothing to do with whether it can install to a hard disc, whether it came on one disc or ten, the problem is that if they did that, only those with a hard disc could play the game, so all the core owners would be excluded, and the 20gb drive on the normal 360 is pretty tiny by Pc standards too.
Microsoft wouldn't like the thought of missing out on sales, that's the main reason for trying to get it all on one disc, if all 360's had hard discs there would be NO panic, multiple disc installs are common with Pc games, and have been for years, and once installed you don't have to switch discs like you seem to think.
All 360's should have come with a hard disc, it was obvious that sooner or later the games would get too big for one dvd, now it looks like they may have to think of future games having hard discs as a requirement in order to play them, either that or HD-DVD.

I sort of understand what you're saying, the only thing that bothers me, lol, is assassins creed going to run smooth, and no hick ups or nothing on my x360, or what?

RetiredHatch
10-12-2007, 10:25 PM
Well if they're having to compress the data it might have more.. hiccups

MrMoo333
10-12-2007, 11:56 PM
Im glad I'm getting it on PS3 now, even though it'd be kind of stupid ti buy it for XBox 360 considering i don't have one... but yeah....

lnhumancode
10-13-2007, 12:44 AM
^^^Lol Moo

To be honest, I'm not sure which problem I'd prefer to have. I only have a PS3, and in an unbiased point of view, I'd rather have the PS3s memory problem, because all that takes to fix is time (But not too much time, right Ubi? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif Don't you dare delay it OR SO HELP ME GOD http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif ), whereas with the 360 they might have to cut things down.

Bah, as long as they fix both of the problems because I don't want to see either the PS3 or the 360 lose this one.

kppgno80
10-13-2007, 12:52 AM
im surprised no flame war, heh its a good thing Assassins creed was made to be EQUAL, so if 360 goes down ps3 is going to... vice versa.

Its good how sony and microsoft guys are helping out, and lets hope that they get this problem fixed up... :@ DONT DELAY U ****ERS!!!!

RetiredHatch
10-13-2007, 01:15 AM
No that's not true they did make both of these games equal but if one has a memory problem they're not going to cut things out of the finished product of the other one http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

AirRon_2K7
10-13-2007, 01:27 AM
and vice versa...

NOXER36
10-13-2007, 01:33 AM
Thank god this isn't turning out to be like the Kotaku comments (bunch of haters). I sure they'll be pulling some all-nighters trying to fix these problems. I really hope the best for this game despite it not going gold...yet before release. This is one of the few games I've actually anticipated and keep up to date with. I hope this game pulls big reviews so Jade and Patrice can go to sleep with a big smile knowing hard work has finally paided off.

RetiredHatch
10-13-2007, 01:35 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif

Oh and what do you mean vice versa? I was speaking of both of the systems having issues with memory...

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif the PS3 having its memory issue and the 360 having it's... cramming issue they're both memory issues though different kinds of memory issues

AirRon_2K7
10-13-2007, 02:07 AM
oh http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/shady.gif...

RetiredHatch
10-13-2007, 02:08 AM
glomp http://media.ubi.com/us/forum_images/gf-glomp.gif

Hassan-Sabbah
10-13-2007, 02:13 AM
If I am understanding this correctly, Ubi's problem with the 360 is DVD disc space due to trying to cram 5 languages onto one disc...

Ubi's problem with the PS3 is INTERNAL involving the dual memory set up in the PS3 console...

It does not make a difference which is more severe as it looks like Ubi has married them both. If one is delayed the other will be as well. Not good news for EITHER of the console owners.

As far as the 360 goes, I do not want to sound harsh, but that sounds like laziness on Ubi's part. Just localize the game! Does there really need to be 5 languages on one CD? This is not an issue with "in game language"...as in the NPC characters in differing regions speaking differing dialects, that is just a loop and should not take up much space. The problem is trying to get a "World wide release disc," I.e; Italian, French, Spanish, German, English all on one press disc, then ship it out to the respective markets. This does not make sense to me.

As far as PS3 goes, it is just a new memory system that devs are not used to working with yet. I am sure, with time, it will be worked out.

But, either way...and I hate to be the pessimist, I smell a delay notice coming... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

I hope I am wrong though...I feel like I have been waititng for this game forever already.

AirRon_2K7
10-13-2007, 02:25 AM
I will kill ... Altair, if there is a delay, and I know this sounds stupid, but could this be a rumour, since it HAS only appeared on ONE website ... or has it, source?

Hassan-Sabbah
10-13-2007, 02:33 AM
Originally posted by AirRon_2K7:
I will kill ... Altair, if there is a delay, and I know this sounds stupid, but could this be a rumour, since it HAS only appeared on ONE website ... or has it, source?

You know, I was thinking the same thing. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

"Rile up the fan base" a bit...

I do not know, but I REALLY hope they work it out SOON and we do not have another delay...

GuStick93
10-13-2007, 02:46 AM
its kinda weird that only one site has this info,might be just a rumour(i hope)
i dont want any more delays for this game...

dragfindel
10-13-2007, 03:02 AM
it needs this banner around the cities http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
http://photobucket.com/mediadetail/?media=http%3A%2F%2F...20sucks&pageOffset=0 (http://photobucket.com/mediadetail/?media=http%3A%2F%2Fi51.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2 Ff355%2Fredlohner%2Feasucks6ct.gif&searchTerm=ea%20sucks&pageOffset=0)
that whould be awesome...
stay independent ubi!

Sacred_92
10-13-2007, 03:43 AM
Originally posted by AirRon_2K7:
I will kill ... Altair, if there is a delay, and I know this sounds stupid, but could this be a rumour, since it HAS only appeared on ONE website ... or has it, source?

appeared at Kotaku too: http://kotaku.com/gaming/assassin.s-creed/assassins-cre...-problems-310501.php (http://kotaku.com/gaming/assassin.s-creed/assassins-creed-having-a-few-problems-310501.php)

saros.exe
10-13-2007, 06:28 AM
Originally posted by RetiredHatch:
glomp http://media.ubi.com/us/forum_images/gf-glomp.gif

This smiley makes me think of a totally different thing than sneaking up to somebody to scare them

the_assassin_07
10-13-2007, 06:39 AM
AHHH!

Nasty images get out of my head!!!

NOOOOO!!

A.B.O.Y
10-13-2007, 07:07 AM
Just dont think about it remember youre an assassin!!

membernametaken
10-13-2007, 08:54 AM
Crazy... I guess i'll be waiting for the final reviews of the two versions. I want to get the best one.

Howler13
10-13-2007, 09:35 AM
Originally posted by Hassan-Sabbah:
Ubi's problem with the PS3 is INTERNAL involving the dual memory set up in the PS3 console... Something like that. From what I read on the issue, BR discs require certain types of information to be on there twice. It's not a huge problem in that it takes up too much space, but it's a seemingly waste of time and memory.


It does not make a difference which is more severe as it looks like Ubi has married them both. If one is delayed the other will be as well. Not good news for EITHER of the console owners. I think that is the main reason there has been no flame wars. As you said, a delay for one would most likely mean a delay for the other.


As far as the 360 goes, I do not want to sound harsh, but that sounds like laziness on Ubi's part. Just localize the game! Does there really need to be 5 languages on one CD? This is not an issue with "in game language"...as in the NPC characters in differing regions speaking differing dialects, that is just a loop and should not take up much space. The problem is trying to get a "World wide release disc," I.e; Italian, French, Spanish, German, English all on one press disc, then ship it out to the respective markets. This does not make sense to me. Numerous developers/publishers have stated that making one "region-free" disc (language-wise) is astronomically cheaper than making region-specific discs. There is huge incentive for Ubi to fit all the languages on one disc, financially and otherwise.

As far as putting the game on two discs, that is plausible, but that would most definatly result in a delay, as some recoding would be required.

Doing it on HD-DVD is a no-go, since so few 360 owners have the player, and how many gamers would fork out $210 to play one game? (who aren't on this forum, we're the exception =]) HDD might work, depending on how much over AC is. If it's only a GB or so, it could work, but much more and I don't know. But again, not every 360 owner has a HDD; most do though, I'd assume, and you can get a used 20 GB one for only about $60, which is worth it.

kppgno80
10-13-2007, 09:42 AM
NO...omg, i knew something like this was going to happe, http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Oh god, just take out the 5 languages and make it one...then focus on the PS3's memory, it will make life easier for all of us, i can see a riot starting....

i happen to think, 2 discs could work for this, just switch everytime you gotto a new city duh

AirRon_2K7
10-13-2007, 09:49 AM
It wouldn't work on a two disc basis... what would you do, stop people from going to part of the kingdom ?

kppgno80
10-13-2007, 09:58 AM
Damn you microsoft for making a core system, they could have just used HDD

and damn you sony for making your mem so annoying

Oh god, here comes the stench of delay....


if it gets delayed, they better release us something... anything to EASE our craving, ahh dammit ubi http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif if you get delayed im losing all hope for ubi... you can either... stop being cheap ***'s and just make diffrent versions of the game. rather then cramming all 5 languages into one CD, i know you want to make both versions equal but you know its not!! 360's ai is going to be better

Karl_93
10-13-2007, 10:01 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif i no what im praying for tonight... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif

kppgno80
10-13-2007, 10:02 AM
what?

Hey, they didnt mention... anyhthing about delay, everyone goes thru these problems right?

Everyone, b4 u sleep at night, PRAY FOR UBI!! pray that it doesnt delay... pray to give them the knowledge to over come this :P

Iam8_Bit
10-19-2007, 06:11 PM
Yeh cause God has nothing better to do then answer our prayers about a frickin' game.

I am sure all the starvin' children aren't a priority tonight....AC is.....

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

MeAltairLol
10-19-2007, 06:33 PM
Yup, lol!

But, GODAMMIT! Ubi, please sort it out! get rid of those 5 languages! Localize it! Who cares if it cost more? Having a delay puts off a lot of potential buyers (Those that haven't dedicated the last 6 or so months to AC), so you would lose a lot more money!

spazzoo1025
10-19-2007, 07:11 PM
stop complaining and be thankful you're getting this game in the first place

Iam8_Bit
10-19-2007, 07:54 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif

kerem121
10-20-2007, 04:34 PM
im sure its already fixed cuz they didnt announce any delay, and if they cant fit it make a 2disk, each disk has the whole map but the story line continues on the second disk....so the disks will be sharing the in game cinematics which will open up some space in the dual layer dvd http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Spykes_wab
10-21-2007, 04:26 PM
So is there any new news on this? That has been the only article I've seen mention this problem with the 2 systems. The big gaming websites (Gamespot, IGN, Gamespy) have never mentioned this kind of problem.

fGuppy88
10-21-2007, 04:42 PM
I think the games will be the same on both consoles. It's probably minor and not as big as some of you guys think.