PDA

View Full Version : Help me with deciding on New Video Card



XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 01:08 PM
Hi All

I am seriously considering bying a new video card, very soon.

I have to admit that my budget is small and my machine is a museum piece by todays standards.

Here goes:

Pentium III 600Mhz
Creative GeForce 3 Ti200 64MB
768 Megs Ram
Windows XP Pro
Gigabyte BX 2000 Motherboard

I know that the machine is measly, but I am really looking to maybe boost the preformance at the cheapest price as I will not be upgrading for some time to come.

The cards I am considering is:

Gainward GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR
Abit Siluro Geforce FX 5200DT 128MB
MSI GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR
Asus V9520 GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR
Creative 3DBlas. GeForce FX 5200 128MB
Gainward GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR 5ns
Sapphire Radeon 9200 Atlantis 256MB DDR
Asus V9520 GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR
Gainward GeForce FX 5200 256MB DDR *
Abit Siluro Geforce FX 5600DT 128MB
Gainward GeForce FX 5600 128MB DDR 5ns*

These cards are within my budget

I know it is quite a list but as I have no idea what the pro's and cons are. Maybe someone here can shed some light. The ones with the stars I am particularly interested in.

Would I gain some performance by replacing my existing Geforce Ti200, and more importantly would it still work on my motherboard which I think support up to 2 or 4 X AGP.

I know that the rest of the system is a bottle neck but if I gain some preformace I will be happy for the moment.

Any advice appreciated!!!!!

Regards

Gian

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 01:08 PM
Hi All

I am seriously considering bying a new video card, very soon.

I have to admit that my budget is small and my machine is a museum piece by todays standards.

Here goes:

Pentium III 600Mhz
Creative GeForce 3 Ti200 64MB
768 Megs Ram
Windows XP Pro
Gigabyte BX 2000 Motherboard

I know that the machine is measly, but I am really looking to maybe boost the preformance at the cheapest price as I will not be upgrading for some time to come.

The cards I am considering is:

Gainward GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR
Abit Siluro Geforce FX 5200DT 128MB
MSI GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR
Asus V9520 GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR
Creative 3DBlas. GeForce FX 5200 128MB
Gainward GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR 5ns
Sapphire Radeon 9200 Atlantis 256MB DDR
Asus V9520 GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR
Gainward GeForce FX 5200 256MB DDR *
Abit Siluro Geforce FX 5600DT 128MB
Gainward GeForce FX 5600 128MB DDR 5ns*

These cards are within my budget

I know it is quite a list but as I have no idea what the pro's and cons are. Maybe someone here can shed some light. The ones with the stars I am particularly interested in.

Would I gain some performance by replacing my existing Geforce Ti200, and more importantly would it still work on my motherboard which I think support up to 2 or 4 X AGP.

I know that the rest of the system is a bottle neck but if I gain some preformace I will be happy for the moment.

Any advice appreciated!!!!!

Regards

Gian

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 01:14 PM
IMHO you won't gain much with new video card, because your CPU has low speed. Newer GPU are getting speed with higher CPUs. I would change CPU first.

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 01:15 PM
doubt u will get any increased performance at all with that slow CPU /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Just as a note i have a GF4 Ti4600 128MB.
My old cpu was the AMD 1,33Ghz and when i upgraded with a new motherboard and an AMD XP2600+, still using the same gfx card, i almost doubled the performance in FB!

http://home.online.no/~gunn-al/vikingmask.jpg

Viking Power!
http://kickme.to/viperviking

Message Edited on 08/13/0302:22PM by VikingViper

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 01:18 PM
I still use a Ti200 in my "other" machine. As its been said, save your money untill you can upgrade your mother board and proc.

Kaptain Maico
249th I.A.P.
Group II
Trng Officer

"We take the Boom out of your Zoom"

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 01:26 PM
First CPU, then video-card.

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 01:34 PM
In that setup, the GF3 Ti200 is a good card. An unbalanced upgrade is sometimes as bas as no upgrade at all. You could put a 9800 pro in that rig and would not realize much benefit.

My advice: Take the money you would use for a new vid card and put it towards a new CPU/mobo combo. Wait a month(or two) and start assembly. A fast CPU will net you more benefit (even with the Ti200).

http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/_uimages/p47atm.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 01:44 PM
Thunderbolt56 wrote:
- In that setup, the GF3 Ti200 is a good card. An
- unbalanced upgrade is sometimes as bas as no upgrade
- at all. You could put a 9800 pro in that rig and
- would not realize much benefit.
-
- My advice: Take the money you would use for a new
- vid card and put it towards a new CPU/mobo combo.
- Wait a month(or two) and start assembly. A fast CPU
- will net you more benefit (even with the Ti200).

--------------------------------------------

I 100% AGREE with Thunderbolt56, it's combination not one individual item .

You'll have to do just like the rest of us. Upgrade intelligently or........./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

--------------- /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 01:53 PM
Dude, you have a good video board. Change your processor!



<Center>http://gavca.com/conteudo/imagens/fb/FB_p-47_jambock1.jpg <Center>
<Center>1st Brazilian Fighter Squadron - Senta a Pua! (http://www.gavca.com)<Center>

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 02:27 PM
I run a gf3 ti on an Athlon xp1700. IN the past I have run a gf2 ti,and a tnt2 on a athlon900, and a radeon9700pro on a xp2500 barton with a nforce2 motherboard.

IF you really want to get the most bang for the buck. You can get an xp2500barton, nforce2 motherboard, and half gig of ram for the same price you can get a high end video card. Put your gf3 ti in it and you will be thrilled to death. My old man is running this setup with a gf2 ti and it kicks a$$. When I run my xp2500barton with the radeon9700 pro, sure it works great. But not much better than my xp1700/gf3ti/1gigsdram machine to justify the bucks. Not that much better. Flight sims are cpu intensive. Once you have a good video card, like you already have, The biggest gain is in cpu first, then once you have something running at 1.5gighz, going from 256, to 512, to 1gig of ram is next. Also make sure in bios your agp aperature is set half of ram, or max if you have 512k of ram or more. Of course this all goes if your current card is AGP. If your motherboard is pci, definitly save for a bit more and go the nforc2 route. Don't waste more money on a pci video card, these belong in a museum display.


Jumoschwanz

michapma
08-13-2003, 02:50 PM
I want to chime in as well that your first priority is clearly a new motherboard and processor. When Oleg Maddox was demonstrating FB before its release at games shows, he on more than one occasion did so on a 1.8GHz CPU (or similar) with a GeForce3 graphics card. It should not take much longer for you to save up for a motherboard that will support a 1.8GHz or so CPU and the CPU itself. Your RAM and graphics card are fine in comparison.

Have fun,
Mike



As a side note, I'd like to make a simple reference to a well-known BIOS guide in order to comment on something that Jumoschwanz wrote:

http://www.rojakpot.com/showBOG.aspx?bogno=23


The AGP aperture size should be calculated using this formula : maximum usable AGP memory size x 2 plus 12MB. The actual usable AGP memory space is less than half the AGP aperture size set in the BIOS. This is because the AGP controller needs a write combined memory area equal in size to the actual AGP memory area (uncached) plus an additional 12MB for virtual addressing. Therefore, it isn't simply a matter of determining how much AGP memory space you need. You also need to calculate the final aperture size by doubling the amount of AGP memory space desired and adding 12MB to the total.

Note that the AGP aperture is merely address space, not physical memory in use. The physical memory is allocated and released as needed only when Direct3D makes a "create non-local surface" call. Windows 95 (with VGARTD.VXD) and later versions of Microsoft Windows use a waterfall method of memory allocation. Surfaces are first created in the graphics card's local memory. When that memory is full, surface creation spills over into AGP memory and then system memory. So, memory usage is automatically optimized for each application. AGP and system memory are not used unless absolutely necessary.

It is quite common to hear many people recommending that the AGP aperture size should be exactly half the amount of system RAM. However, this is wrong for the same reason why swapfile size shouldn't always be 1/4 of system RAM. Like the swapfile, the requirement for AGP memory space shrinks as the graphics card's local memory increases in size. This is because the graphics card will have more local memory to dedicate to texture storage. This reduces the need for AGP memory. So, if you upgrade to a graphics card with more memory, you shouldn't be "deceived" into thinking that it will therefore require even more AGP memory! On the contrary, a smaller AGP memory space will be required.

....

it is recommended that you set the AGP Aperture Size to 64MB or at most, 128MB.


<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="10"><tr valign="middle" bgcolor="#3e463b"><td height="40" colspan="3" align="center">The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide project (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/)</a></td></tr><tr bgcolor="#515e2f"><td width="40%">FB engine management:
Manifold Pressure sucks (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182081-1.html)
Those Marvelous Props (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182082-1.html)
Mixture Magic (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182084-1.html)
Putting It All Together (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182085-1.html)
Those Fire-Breathing Turbos (Part 1 of 6) (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182102-1.html)</td><td align="center">

‚ =69.GIAP=Chap‚

69.GIAP (http://www.baseclass.modulweb.dk/giap/)</p></td><td width="40%" align="right" valign="top">Hardware:
Flight Simulation Performance Analyzed (http://www.simhq.com/_air/air_062a.html)
Building a home-made throttle quadrant step by step (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=zkavv)
Sound Can Be Hazardous for Games (http://www6.tomshardware.com/game/20030405/index.html)</td></tr></table>

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 02:54 PM
go here
http://www.pricewatch.com

For 120 - 160$ you could have a 2+ Ghz machine. That will do far more for your gaming than any video card you can buy, regardless of price.

http://www.vfa25.com/sigs/phist.jpg

EDIT- after just checking my link, I see you can get a 2100 athlon XP with a motherboard for 60$


Message Edited on 08/13/0302:57PM by Phist25

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 04:43 PM
Yep, I guess that makes sense.

Mmm, oh well just have to save a bit harder now.

Thanks for all your very informative replies.

Cheers

Gian