PDA

View Full Version : OT:Rc model for beginner

Fighterduck
02-20-2007, 07:35 AM
hi all!
i need an advise from RC pilots. I wanted to start to fly RC planes, but i dont have that much money at the moment, so i made a trip around some shops and i found this one http://www.parkzone.com/Products/Default.aspx?ProdID=PKZ1600
but lloking that im not an rc expert i dont know it it's good or not to start with...any idea?

thanks!

FlyFisher73
02-20-2007, 08:30 AM
There are two things I would recommend;

1) Look for a high wing trainer for your first airplane, the Fw190 might be a bit much for your first plane.

2) Join an RC club, they will teach you how to fly & maintain your stuff. You will spend more $$ in wrecked planes if you don't

p-11.cAce
02-20-2007, 09:05 AM
I love the parkzone aircraft - they are how I got into RC! I would NOT start with the Fw - my progression went: Slo-v, F27 Styker, typhoon, p-51. You can probably skip the Slo-v - never try to fly it in any wind! - and go straight to the Stryker. The styker is pretty hot (even the B model)and tip stalls if you get slow on the approach but otherwise is alot of fun. I could have done without the Typhoon but it looked fun (and is sometimes but does not have the "flow" of the Styker of the P-51. You could, in theory, start out with the Fw but the basic RC skills you get with the Slo-v (like "reversing" your orientation when the plane is pointed at you) are better learned at slow speed than fast. The quality of these aircraft are top notch for RTF and good gateway to RC without re-kitting a bunch of balsa. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif

RocketDog
02-20-2007, 09:15 AM
Good advice is to learn to fly with a model you are not too fond of. Learning involves quite a bit of crashing and it is heart-breaking to do it with something either a) expensive or b) beautiful. Save the Fw-190 until you have the skills mastered.

Cheers,

RD.

faustnik
02-20-2007, 09:48 AM
Originally posted by FlyFisher73: