PDA

View Full Version : MYST V NEED ADVICE ON MY CPU AND VIDEO CARD



tuauggie1
11-16-2005, 02:58 PM
I have an old hp pavilion 510w desktop. It has only PCI slots. My CPU is only 1.1 gig (I would like to overclock it but was told I can't).I have an old radeon 7200 32MB video card. When there is any action things get choppy. Could I get by with a better video card? If so, do you have any suggestions as to what brand or memory? I have maxed out my RAM (512 mgb). I have all kinds of hard drive space. I don't want to spend a lot of money on this computer because I am going to attempt to build one in the near future but man I want to play this game real bad with no glitches!!!! Any advice would greatly appreciated!!!! Thanks

Heimdall_G
11-18-2005, 03:00 PM
Going for a new homebuilt? Good on ye, mate!

You can install a PCI - NOT PCI Express or PCI-E - card with a Radeon (9200 or later) or Nvidia (GeForce FX 5200 or later) chipset. The higher the model number, the later the chipset.

There are lots of choices. To start, see:
-- eBay Radeon PCI (http://search.ebay.com/radeon-pci_W0QQfclZ4QQfnuZ1)
-- eBay NVIDIA PCI (http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?sofocus=bs&sbrftog=1&fcl=4&fnu=1&from=R10&satitle=Nvidia+pci&sacat=-1%26catref%3DC6&bs=Search&fsop=1%26fsoo%3D1&fgtp=&sargn=-1%26saslc%3D2&sadis=200&fpos=ZIP%2FPostal&ftrt=1&ftrv=1&saprclo=&saprchi=)

Beyond that, Google "Radeon PCI" and NVIDIA PCI".

LaReh
11-21-2005, 04:11 AM
Just FYI, I have a 1.0 gig AMD processor with 512 meg RAM along with a 128 meg RAM Ati Radeon 9200 video card and I play any and all MYST/URU games with no problems. Good luck with your upgrading but I think you'll be fine with a new video card. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Capt.Zobeee
11-21-2005, 04:33 PM
Before purchasing "newer" equip. you might try a little "trick" which may or may not help, depending if you've already tried it or not 1): close everything you're NOT using in your tool tray in the lower right corner. (If it's not closed, it's running on your 512 mg buss. 2) here's a good help if you've not done this. If you're running on your HP 510 (and you most likely are), Win2000 or newer, gon into "my computer", "my documents", and "File" (upper lft corner), create a new file and minimize both "my docs" and "new file", right click on "new file" and "rename" it (whatever you chose; I used "my NEW Doc.s"). With both windows open and minimized, click and drag EVERYTHING from "my documents" to your NEW file. Most folks don't realize that the newer versions of these Win platforms also continue running in the background and allocate a place in your 512 mg buss. This should allow you a bit more RAM to play around with. If nothing else, you will speed-up your p/c quite a bit. 3)Get rid of all unecc. "shortcuts" on your desktop. Now try your results.