PDA

View Full Version : Muzzle flash correct in brightness, but slow to fade

XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 04:48 PM
Lots has been written about the muzzle flash, particularly from cannon, most of it just insulting.

The other day I was playing back a track at 2x and 4x speed and noticed that the cannon flashes looked more realistic that way (I'm a soldier so have fired a large caliber weapon or two).

It dawned on me that the size and brightness of the flash is spot on, but that it hangs around a bit too long.

Could it possibly be sped up just a touch?

Give it a try and see if it doesn't work...

XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 04:48 PM
Lots has been written about the muzzle flash, particularly from cannon, most of it just insulting.

The other day I was playing back a track at 2x and 4x speed and noticed that the cannon flashes looked more realistic that way (I'm a soldier so have fired a large caliber weapon or two).

It dawned on me that the size and brightness of the flash is spot on, but that it hangs around a bit too long.

Could it possibly be sped up just a touch?

Give it a try and see if it doesn't work...

XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 06:14 PM
<span style="font-size:30px;">BUMP!</span>

Listen to the man, please! (Largest thing I ever fired was a 120 mm gun.)

---------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

Message Edited on 11/13/0306:15PM by plumps_

XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 06:25 PM
I don't remember much flash at all from the machine gun that I have fired - (GPMG and a long time ago so my memory is probably faulty).

Oleg has said before that he can't easily change the muzzle flash so maybe this could be a good solution?

Neat idea anyhow.

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_07.gif

She turned me into a newt, but I got better.

XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 06:29 PM