PDA

View Full Version : 4.08 Flak related frame rate issues



BlitzPig_DDT
02-12-2007, 08:59 AM
In the 4.08 Thoughts thread that Ivan started in the GD, some people have mentioned that they get real bad stutters and frame rate loss in flak with 4.08 that they did not get prior to the patch.

Someone suggested turning the Texture quality down, which I tried, but it's still a slide show.

I am currently running a PTO campaign, flying F4Fs off of the 'Yorktown'. The carrier battle group consists of the 'Yorktown', the Lexington and 4 destroyers. When the Japanese attack (they usually do it in large numbers), the flak goes off and I literally end up with a slide show. It becomes impossible to fight.

This did not happen with 4.071m. There was almost no noticeable frame rate loss with flak in 4.071m (and I like putting lots of flak on my DF maps). I did not change my settings or my PC, the only difference was the patch.

heywooood
02-17-2007, 09:05 AM
same here - bump


I noticed that installing 4.08 altered a few settings in the conf file, such as turning on 3d gunners...but even after turning that off I still have severe stuttering with flak whilst air combat is occuring. The sim almost crashes as it hangs for such a long time.

Not sure why everyone isn't experiencing this..

Snootles
02-17-2007, 09:19 AM
Yeah, that's odd, because I'm having no framerate issues at all on 4.08. No difference in performance at all from 4.71, or even from 4.04m pre-1946.

I'm running:

Windows XP Home (5.1, Build 2600)
Athlon 64 FX-53 processor
Asus A8N-E mobo
2 GB DDR400 RAM
Creative X-Fi Fatality sound card
Asus GeForce 7950 GX2 3D card
DirectX 9.0c
ForceWare 93.71

If any of that is helpful for comparison...

BlitzPig_DDT
02-17-2007, 12:16 PM
I can only guess that the code got less efficient with the patch and many people have enough raw horsepower to absorb that loss of efficiency with no noticable effect.

I have a P4 3.2GHz, 1GB of RAM, and a really old GF4Ti4200 (XP Pro, SP2 fully updated with McAfee A/V). Ran just fine with water=2 and "excellent" settings at 1024x768. With all the settings remaining the same and the application of the patch, it went to hell in flak storms.

I'm getting a 6600 nvidia soon and will have to see if that has any effect. I need to boost my RAM to 2GB as well, but that might have to hold off for a bit.

ElAurens
02-17-2007, 10:30 PM
DDT. that new Nvidia card will make a world of difference.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Chris0382
02-18-2007, 12:53 PM
Snootles: Thats a heck of a system you got there. I should hope you get no stuttering with that Vcard and CPU.

As for the 6600, wouldnt the 7600GT or 7900GT be more powerful.

Im wagering that more than 256 mb of VIDEO RAM is needed and that 512 mb is minimum one should have for 4.08m. I have a feeling its all in the video ram.

I will try and elimate my soundboard as a cause next.

BlitzPig_DDT
02-19-2007, 07:37 AM
Originally posted by Chris0382:
Snootles: Thats a heck of a system you got there. I should hope you get no stuttering with that Vcard and CPU.

As for the 6600, wouldnt the 7600GT or 7900GT be more powerful.

Im wagering that more than 256 mb of VIDEO RAM is needed and that 512 mb is minimum one should have for 4.08m. I have a feeling its all in the video ram.

I will try and elimate my soundboard as a cause next.

I'm sure it would, but is that AGP? And also, unless you're going to offer me one........

lol