PDA

View Full Version : Please help!!!!!!!!



levanich
09-24-2004, 12:47 PM
Hi all!
Sorry for posting this in the general discussion area, but I€m desperate.

I€m having serious problems with IL-2 AEP 2.04. Running the game in Open GL mode, regular missions and campaign missions fail to load. Usually around %30 I get a message like this: €œmesh failed to load€ or €œaircraft model failed to load€. I also observed CTD and regular hang-ups. I have tried various graphical configs including safe settings. I have reinstalled the game several times, still no go. The weird thing is that it runs fine in all configurations in Quick battle mode. The problem is not observed when the game is run using DirectX.

I am running:
Athlon 64 3200
K8V SE Deluxe
Crucial 1 gig
PNY GeForce 6800 GT 256 61.77
XP Professional Edition SP1 all up to date
Direct X 9.0c
All other drivers are up to date, and the system is otherwise rock solid (LOMAC hasn€t crashed once!)

Unfortunately I didn€t catch the instance the game broke. I€m pretty sure it ran fine for a while with the PC configured as above.
Any and all help is appreciated. I don€t even know where to begin looking for this bug.
Thanks all!
S!

levanich
09-24-2004, 12:47 PM
Hi all!
Sorry for posting this in the general discussion area, but I€m desperate.

I€m having serious problems with IL-2 AEP 2.04. Running the game in Open GL mode, regular missions and campaign missions fail to load. Usually around %30 I get a message like this: €œmesh failed to load€ or €œaircraft model failed to load€. I also observed CTD and regular hang-ups. I have tried various graphical configs including safe settings. I have reinstalled the game several times, still no go. The weird thing is that it runs fine in all configurations in Quick battle mode. The problem is not observed when the game is run using DirectX.

I am running:
Athlon 64 3200
K8V SE Deluxe
Crucial 1 gig
PNY GeForce 6800 GT 256 61.77
XP Professional Edition SP1 all up to date
Direct X 9.0c
All other drivers are up to date, and the system is otherwise rock solid (LOMAC hasn€t crashed once!)

Unfortunately I didn€t catch the instance the game broke. I€m pretty sure it ran fine for a while with the PC configured as above.
Any and all help is appreciated. I don€t even know where to begin looking for this bug.
Thanks all!
S!

SlickStick
09-24-2004, 12:59 PM
Did you install AEP V2.01 Patch prior to installing V2.04 Patch?

levanich
09-24-2004, 01:03 PM
yes, no good. I've even tried to run the campaign after installing a V1.0 of FB, same result.

Korolov
09-24-2004, 01:06 PM
Did you try some different maps in the QMB? I had some similar errors once, but by changing maps around from Smolensk, for example, to Crimea, it worked.

It sounds like your issue may be more serious than this though. You didn't overclock your video card by any chance, did you?

levanich
09-24-2004, 01:28 PM
nope card is stock, and again the system is otherwise rocksolid. All maps in QMB work fine. I just tried OpenGL + Lowest grpahics settings and it worked. I tried then, without leaving the mission to switch to excellent settings and it hung http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

levanich
09-24-2004, 03:47 PM
bump http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

levanich
09-24-2004, 04:02 PM
Just found another post with same problem! http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=202101455&r=694100455#694100455
guess it's not just me. Anyone else with a 6800 GT having OpenGL issues?

fordfan25
09-24-2004, 08:02 PM
does yours work in DirectX mode? have you tried completly removeing the game then reinstall F.B1.0 then aep then the first aep patch 2.1 i think then the new 2.4. that solved the load problems i was haveing.ofcourse thay were deffrent than yours. have you tried deferent driver versions?also post what your settings are in the setup menu,not the one ingame but the one in the aep prgrame file in you all programe list. sometimes if something is not enabled the game will not work right in perfect.i wish i could be more help but maby this will get the ball rolling from one of the tech masters http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

levanich
09-24-2004, 09:06 PM
thanks fordfan, but I got it fixed. The game does not seem to like 61.77 Nvidia drivers with (the latest drivers on their website) with the 6800gt, at least not on my system. After installing 66.31 all problems went away! Now these are an unofficial version from Guru3d so use at own risk.
thanks to all for you help
back to flyin' http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif