PDA

View Full Version : Renting and running a dedicated server for IL2 Pacific Fighters

hamselv2
04-22-2005, 10:42 AM
I'm researching running and renting a dedicated server for IL2 Pacific Fighters (merged install), and therefore I would like to see contributions from the community.

I'm looking for a host that can provide a stable connection for a dedicated server that can be controlled remotely by several administrators.
I have no experience with running a dedicated server myself.

From you who have experience with renting and running a server I would like to know:

Max. numbers of players you have on your server ?
Name of the HyperLobby game server(s) that you have experience from ?
Have you been running FBDaemon and/or IL2 Server Commander successfully ?
Have you been using the statistics modules for FBDaemon and/or IL2 Server Commander successfully ?
Is your server running smoothly except for when 'highpingers' join ?
'Average' pings in an 'average' game ?

Who is host of your dedicated server (name and hyperlink to host's website) ?
Costs (monthly) ?
Support (phone/online) ?
Can the rented dedicated server be controlled remotely by several administrators ?

Specifications for the dedicated server software/hardware:
Operating system ?
CPU ?
Amount and type of RAM ?
Hard drives: model, size, RPM, S-ATA/P-ATA/SCSI, RAID ?
Max. download and upload speed (mbit/s) ?
Approximately monthly amount of traffic (GB/month) when hosting dedicated server ?

What do you think would be the smallest amount of RAM that a server needs - and what amount would be ideal ?

hamselv2
04-22-2005, 10:42 AM
I'm researching running and renting a dedicated server for IL2 Pacific Fighters (merged install), and therefore I would like to see contributions from the community.

I'm looking for a host that can provide a stable connection for a dedicated server that can be controlled remotely by several administrators.
I have no experience with running a dedicated server myself.