PDA

View Full Version : undercarriage on USN aircraft



dreadbaron1968
11-24-2005, 04:59 AM
Hi, This is my first posting so I hope I am not asking something that has already deen covered.

Is anyone having problems with undercarriage on some USN planes, ie, if it is down you can not raise it, or vice verse. I have run the combined FB-AE-PF game on 2 PC's, different motherboards, graphic cards, etc, so thinking it is a glitch in the game and not a result of any specific hardware conflict.

nakamura_kenji
11-24-2005, 05:02 AM
if talk about wildcat F4F/FM-2 you need raise manuel think there key deifne in option that you do need set up or else always fly wheel down.

cmw1980
11-24-2005, 05:48 AM
Hi dreadbaron, this question comes up from time to time. nakamura_Kenji is spot on, you need to define keys to raise and lower the gear manually (like if you are winding a handle). I use shift and g keys to riase them and ctrl and g to lower them. You need to hold shift or ctrl and keep tapping the g key untill they are fully up or down. You will hear the winding sound as they move and see the handle turn in your cockpit (down the right hand side somwhere)if its working correctly. The I16 Russian fighter also has manuel landing gear.
Good hunting!

Chuck_Older
11-24-2005, 08:31 AM
Originally posted by dreadbaron1968:
Hi, This is my first posting so I hope I am not asking something that has already deen covered.

Is anyone having problems with undercarriage on some USN planes, ie, if it is down you can not raise it, or vice verse. I have run the combined FB-AE-PF game on 2 PC's, different motherboards, graphic cards, etc, so thinking it is a glitch in the game and not a result of any specific hardware conflict.


been covered about 10,000 times without exaggeration, but that's OK

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif Sounds like you tried a lot of things to fix the problem. Took some time, I bet. The answer was in the game manual all along http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

This is a complex sim, a look at the manual now and again is needed. All sorts of info in there.

As a suggestion, if you have a problem like this again, you might want to bring it up in General Discussion...or actually on second thought maybe not, because you'd be getting repeonses like press "Ctrl+E" (which makes you bail out)

You're going to find that some planes have engines that cut out under negative-G, like when you push forward on the stick into a dive. Completely normal behavior for those planes

Others will have no provision for you to trim the aircraft in flight- completely normal for those planes

Still others will seem to be immobile when taking off from an aircraft carrier (read: all of them) 100% proper behavior in the sim (hint- remove the wheel chocks. You just assign a keystroke for it)

Others might seem to have the gunsight functioning wrong, pushed off to the side. Again, 100% normal

All in the manual http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

As a technical note, in the F4F, the landing gear mechanism was very similar to a bicycle chain and sprokets. A hand crank is physically turned by the pilot

If you look down in the cockpit while raising or lowering the gear, you will see the handle turning. Many keypresses may be needed to raise or lower the gear. When the handle stops, the gear is locked http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Also, in the F4F, you'll find that when you deploy the flaps sometimes, they come right back up. This is not a glitch; this really happened on the aircraft. It has to do with your airspeed.

Oh, a quick note about airspeed. Two types:

IAS
TAS

IAS is Indicated Air Speed. Your in-cockpit gauge reads IAS,a s does the speedbar in the lower left corner

TAS is True Air Speed. A table was provided for altitude correction to translate IAS to TAS for the real pilots. You can cheat on that a bit. Go to no cockpit mode and take a look at your speed. In no-cockpit mode it's TAS. The catch is that it's in kph. So if your airspeed indicator seems very low compared to what the 'real' top speed is, remember you're seeing IAS

By the way, you can cycle the speedbar into three modes of display, for kph, knots, and mph- again, assign a keystoke

VT-51_Razor
11-25-2005, 08:18 AM
Be careful Chuck. Nice guys finish last around here. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Chuck_Older
11-25-2005, 09:06 AM
Thank God I'm a jerk, then

VT-51_Razor
11-25-2005, 10:50 AM
We could use more jerks like you around here! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

SkyChimp
11-25-2005, 11:28 AM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
Thank God I'm a jerk, then

Jerk? No.

Weenie-cicle, maybe.

Chuck_Older
11-25-2005, 04:49 PM
I'm a weenie-cadet

Viper2005_
11-25-2005, 05:08 PM
Perhaps an FAQs forum would be a good idea?

JG53Frankyboy
11-25-2005, 05:14 PM
or just sometimes read the "README"-files in the PF installation folder

IIJG69_Kartofe
11-25-2005, 06:43 PM
Originally posted by dreadbaron1968:
Hi, This is my first posting so I hope I am not asking something that has already deen covered.

Is anyone having problems with undercarriage on some USN planes, ie, if it is down you can not raise it, or vice verse. I have run the combined FB-AE-PF game on 2 PC's, different motherboards, graphic cards, etc, so thinking it is a glitch in the game and not a result of any specific hardware conflict.

Or RTFM !

You know the folder delvered with rhe game IF YOU BUY IT ! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

dreadbaron1968
12-15-2005, 04:41 AM
Hi, many thanks to all the people who helped me out. Must admit I feel a bit sheepish, I do a lot of reading around the planes, should have realised that those particular planes had manually operated undercarriage. In my defence, my main interest is in the European theatre, so I do more research on RAF and Luftwaffe, but no excuses, I have the game manuals. It is easy to forget how accurate this flight sim aims to be, I started off on Microsoft CFS I and II, to look back..well, different league entirely. It is a shame that recent patches have cured somethings but altered others for the worse, but I guess it is complicated programming, so it is to be expected.

actionhank1786
12-15-2005, 04:44 AM
Originally posted by dreadbaron1968:
Hi, many thanks to all the people who helped me out. Must admit I feel a bit sheepish, I do a lot of reading around the planes, should have realised that those particular planes had manually operated undercarriage. In my defence, my main interest is in the European theatre, so I do more research on RAF and Luftwaffe, but no excuses, I have the game manuals. It is easy to forget how accurate this flight sim aims to be, I started off on Microsoft CFS I and II, to look back..well, different league entirely. It is a shame that recent patches have cured somethings but altered others for the worse, but I guess it is complicated programming, so it is to be expected.
Hey dont worry, i flew for 20minutes with my gear down and i'd been playing Il-2 for years when i got PF.
Finally i just went fast enough to shear it off, and considered that good enough.
That was until of course it game time to land! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif