PDA

View Full Version : convoys in GW?



Ratatosk79
09-24-2006, 03:34 PM
Hi i have been on 3 patrols with Greywolves installed, and i have never seen or gotten info about a convoy. I have played the game on and off since february and i have never seen an convoy.
Is this normal?

stollcm
09-24-2006, 03:56 PM
It's happened to me before. Just depends on where you are patrolling or looking at. If you take a look at the map that came with the game, look for the convoy routes and hang around those areas. Better yet, if you hang around a place where 2 or three routes come together better yet.

In the middle of AM right off the NW coast of Ireland and in the northern section of BF, just south of Ireland seems to work for me and just about everyone else on here. Hope this helps!

hueywolf123
09-24-2006, 04:56 PM
My first three patrols I got nothing but depth charges.
My last three patrols were between the Canary Islands & Biscay. In that stretch of water I have found two large convoys on each patrol.
BTW, don't get too excited, these are very heavily escorted, and unless it's stormy, attack is certain death

Ratatosk79
09-24-2006, 05:03 PM
well nice to here that im not alone.
i will check out those places and hope i will find something...who knows. thanks for the advice.

good hunting to ya all!!

AVGWarhawk
09-24-2006, 05:38 PM
In GW yearly part of the war you find the lone merchants. As you progress in the war, convoys were initiated. You will start to see more convoys than the single merchant. My last patrol I had three convoy contacts. I'm on my 11th patrol early 1941. Set sail and they will come!

Fish40
09-25-2006, 04:31 AM
I'm useing GW, and it's August 41'. I command a Type VIIC out of St. Nazaire. My latest orders for the last two patrols, were to cruise to grids down near Freetown. I never make it there, because as I exit the Bay of Biscay, I always get a Convoy report in grid BE. Too close to pass up!

AVGWarhawk
09-25-2006, 02:30 PM
I hear you, I stop for the convoy when I see one. Then move on to the assigned grid if I have some torps left. If not BDU always tells me to return to base. I have not seen a milk cow yet.

hueywolf123
09-25-2006, 02:42 PM
You won't get milkcows in the early years, you will however get radio updates on available supply ships in neutral ports. Notice in some of the Spanish ports a blue name over a greenname? Zoom in on those and you will see the supply ship waiting.
Also, if you want constant radio updates on convoys etc, qualify your radio guy

MothBalled
09-25-2006, 03:34 PM
Using GW go to your nav map screen. You'll see some little tabs in the upper left cornet. Click, grab and drag them. One of them is a map of all convoy routes. Go to an area where they converge, you'll catch something.

tuddley3
09-25-2006, 05:21 PM
I believe milkcows begin in Jan 1940 of the west coast of Spain. With GW, press F1 for the help screen, there is a chart with the dates and locations of milkcows. I think you click on something called Supply or similar.

BTW, someone using UBWA, is there something similar to this. It's not in the F1 function, and not on the Nav Map as a pull down. Maybe it's possible to install the F1 feature from GW into JSGME to overwrite the F1 from UBWA ? (Do you know CommandeFritz)

AVGWarhawk
09-25-2006, 05:31 PM
Tuddley3, thanks for the info on milk cows. I have never seen one and now I know why! I could have used on last night as I ran out of fuel! I contacted BDU and they said I was on my own...whats up with that yo?