PDA

View Full Version : Is there anything i should be concerned with this upgrade?



Phil_C
02-22-2009, 09:34 PM
I am going from vista32 to vista64. I am also going to 8 gigs of ram and to a dual 1 gig GeForceŽ GTX 280 OCX card setup.

Is there any issue i should be concerned with in regards to any errors or imcompatability with the program? Or should it be smooth sailing?


Thanks!

Phil_C
02-22-2009, 09:34 PM
I am going from vista32 to vista64. I am also going to 8 gigs of ram and to a dual 1 gig GeForceŽ GTX 280 OCX card setup.

Is there any issue i should be concerned with in regards to any errors or imcompatability with the program? Or should it be smooth sailing?


Thanks!

Bearcat99
02-22-2009, 10:10 PM
PSU.... but with that rig I am sure you already considered that..

TX-Gunslinger
02-22-2009, 10:22 PM
Well for what it's worth - after waiting many years - I put together a new system a few weeks ago.

EVGA GTX 280
Intel E8500 Dual Core
4 Gig Ram
vista64

I was very pleasantly surprised at how well everything went together. I actually find Vista a much better operating system than XP in many ways, based on my experience so far.

I run my rig now at 1920 X 1280, 8XAA - 8XAF - high quality - water 4 - land 3 with frame rates above 70, and I have not even had time to optimize my settings - nor overclock anything.

BTW that's with all the frame killing mods - like Buffy Flaks, multiple smokes enabled, etc...

I chose not to go with SLI as I all I use are simulators, entertainment wise. All the benchmarks I've seen thus far:

http://www.txsquadron.com/foru...dex.php?topic=2675.0 (http://www.txsquadron.com/forum/index.php?topic=2675.0)

pretty much show SLI to be a let down for Il2 and FSX.

I would imagine however that your'e SLI'ing for other reasons.

I followed the Il2 Vista 64 instruction over in the Community Help section stickies on these forums to the letter and had absolutely no issues.

Il2 looks so incredible at these resolutions with all eye candy that it's like a whole new game.

BTW - I lucked out and got my GTX 280 for $278 with rebate during a NewEgg weekend sale. I was aiming for a 9800GTX - which if you follow the link above to the benchmark sections - you'll understand.

Il2 is never benchmarked anymore on review sites - so one must use FSX as a stand in. Il2 and FSX are both CPU bound.

S~

Gunny

Phil_C
02-23-2009, 07:57 AM
i already have a KW powersupply and barely use 1/2 of it at most...and from looking the dual 280s use just about the same power comsumption as my dual 8800 ultras.


http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gifsounds like it shouldnt be an issue... thanks!