PDA

View Full Version : Storyline

Nosterex1971
11-21-2007, 03:23 AM
Assassin's Creed is a beautifully designed game, however imo, the storyline is poor at best.
It is difficult to immerse yourself into the role of a character when you are being thrown between past and present. A real shame that this game didn't deliver what the demo videos portrayed. Not one of the videos shown before the games release showed this concept(those who have played the game will know, I don't want to spoil the game for those who have not played it yet). The reason why Thief was so successful for the stealth/action genre was the fact that it was an immersive experience and a set period piece. Assassin's Creed jumps too much from past to present to enable you to feel a part of the era you are meant to be enjoying. I realise that they were after a 'hook'(concept) but more often than not using a tried and tested method for gameplay has a greater success rate with gamers (I have 30 years of gaming experience). Most people don't like a storyline which leaves them feeling confused or as if they do not know what is happening in the game; Ubisoft seem to have gotten too caught up in the hype of creating a visual masterpiece and forgot the basic structure for a good stealth/action game -which is immersive comprehensive gameplay.
I'd like to hear what everyone else thinks of the points I made in my post, after following this game so closely for so long I'm certain that there are others out there as disappointed as I am with it.
Maybe Assassin's Creed 2 will take onboard some of these basic structures next time around.
Game On,
Nosterex http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

AirRon_2K7
11-21-2007, 03:56 AM
Half flamy post my follow: