PDA

View Full Version : 1.3 -> 1.4 transition BUG: Brest disappears from map



dogshu
06-23-2005, 10:18 AM
I excitedly downloaded the 1.4 patch after hearing about it last night. Careful not to mess up my career, I returned to base before installing the patch (thankfully I was already out of torpedoes and on my way home). Then I installed the patch, and loaded one of my in-base savegames.

I had transferred to Wilhelmshaven a couple of patrols back. Just as I was starting a new mission, after I clicked the "Start mission" button, but before the mission actually started to load, I got a pop-up saying "Base changed to: Brest". I'd take a screenshot but unfortunately I cannot load the in-base savegame without deleting my more recent in-mission savegame.

Now is where the problems start. My mission briefing shows my patrol area as being "NULL":
http://www.ccs.neu.edu/home/jfaulkne/SH3Img@23-6-2005_11.56.41_546.jpg

However, the mission orders screen correctly shows my patrol area as being BF15.

Another, rather serious problem is that Brest, my new home base, has disappeared from the map:
http://www.ccs.neu.edu/home/jfaulkne/SH3Img@23-6-2005_11.56.58_15.jpg

Finally, as I was exiting the game to post this message, I see that my Patrol Report incorrectly shows my start location as "Brest", even though it should be Wilhelmshaven:
http://www.ccs.neu.edu/home/jfaulkne/SH3Img@23-6-2005_11.59.43_937.jpg

It looks like this problem existed during the 1.2 -> 1.3 transition as well:
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/857101043/m/834...341086023#8341086023 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/857101043/m/8341086023/r/8341086023#8341086023)

I just hope that when I'm done with my patrol, I don't have the same problems as Night_Crawler:
"I lost, My reown, the tonnages, i cant give my mans any medals, or even buy a bigger boat."

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif That makes me very worried... but I can't bring myself to start a new career until I'm sure that I will lose all my renown. Here's hoping the next few hours playing SH3 won't be wasted because of this bug. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif

Jester_159th
06-23-2005, 10:22 AM
That's strange. With 1.3 my map had Brest missing (no name label although the port itself was there). I installed 1.4 and the problem was solved.

RealHondo
06-23-2005, 12:58 PM
I had the same problem. Started from Kiel, got pop up to return to St. Nazaire, but Nazaire wasn't on map. The NULL entry was there, too. After a few days ingame I got a radio report stating that St. Nataire was available and it appeared on the map.

KptnLtKarle
06-23-2005, 01:25 PM
I'm having exactly the same problem. It started as soon as I got the Base changed message. This was using 1.3, my patrol grid was also listed as Null. I hadn't done much of a patrol so last night I decided to scrap the one save I had made in this patrol and patched up to 1.4 Did a clean install everything seemed to go fine. I fired up my "In base before Mission save and when the game initializes I find myself in a little cove about 50km from Wilhelmshaven, my patrol grid is NULL, I have no orders on the Briefing page and Brest is not labeled on the map, although when you zoom in on the correct area the harbour is there. Not really sure what's going to happen with this patrol but fingers crossed

dogshu
06-23-2005, 01:42 PM
Another problem I noticed... my "renown per patrol" is wrong:
http://www.ccs.neu.edu/home/jfaulkne/SH3Img@23-6-2005_11.59.43_937.jpg

My renown per patrol after Patrol 6 was 1808, I don't think it would even be possible for 1 patrol to drop my renown per patrol down to 67, unless I'm wrong about the calculation its doing.

Anyway, I do still have my renown left over from previous patrols, and it looks like awards are still given to both me and my crew (though I'm not sure why I got 2 Knight's Crosses for sinking 1 destroyer), so I guess I'll finish out this patrol with my fingers crossed.

Night_Crawler
06-23-2005, 02:50 PM
Hopefully in 1.4b willn't have the same problem so, i deside to wait for "Auto-tranfer" when computer tells me that my new base is Brest http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif.. and Brest gonna be there on the map http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif....