PDA

View Full Version : Patch 4.0 perf. question for testers, Hunter, or Oleg



Dexmeister
03-21-2005, 07:50 AM
I'm sorry if this has been discussed in the numerous threads about the patch, but I'd love to have a definitive answer from someone who knows.

Simply put, can anyone say whether the patch will cause increased or decreased load on our PCs, and/or whether we can expect performance to be the same, better or worse?

PF has introduced some serious overhead that I haven't yet been able to work around. I've tried the multiple versions, read the tech area for tweak tips and followed those, lowered my resolution and graphics options as well as performance expectations, and honestly haven't gotten things up to an acceptable level yet.

Many previous IL2-series patches have caused improvements in performance, what about 4.0?

I'm debating spending the time to redo my whole install & PC setup, as well as adding a new HOTAS setup, but if 4.0 is going to cause even a 10% performance loss, I may want to rethink that.

Any help appreciated from those that know.

Thx

Dexmeister
03-21-2005, 07:50 AM
I'm sorry if this has been discussed in the numerous threads about the patch, but I'd love to have a definitive answer from someone who knows.

Simply put, can anyone say whether the patch will cause increased or decreased load on our PCs, and/or whether we can expect performance to be the same, better or worse?

PF has introduced some serious overhead that I haven't yet been able to work around. I've tried the multiple versions, read the tech area for tweak tips and followed those, lowered my resolution and graphics options as well as performance expectations, and honestly haven't gotten things up to an acceptable level yet.

Many previous IL2-series patches have caused improvements in performance, what about 4.0?

I'm debating spending the time to redo my whole install & PC setup, as well as adding a new HOTAS setup, but if 4.0 is going to cause even a 10% performance loss, I may want to rethink that.

Any help appreciated from those that know.

Thx

Hunter82
03-21-2005, 08:26 AM
Can't really give any information more than Oleg has said yet Dex. As Oleg has said earlier it will increase demand as the AI and User will be on the same FM and the increased calculations involved. As soon as I can give any information that is cleared by Oleg I will....


BTW OT I just started a new 90 Gal Reef tank in Feb... I'll send pics when I get it more together http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Dexmeister
03-21-2005, 08:48 AM
Sweet, definitely post some pics. I've gotten rid of 2 of my 4 tanks but kept the 72 and 65. Both freshwater now after pulling my hair out trying to get the 65 reef going properly. Too expensive and 65g is too small!

What kind of fish/species are in there? Watching Finding Nemo with my little nephew yesterday I was tempted to do it all over again http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Hunter82
03-21-2005, 09:28 AM
Right now I have a Naso Tang, a pair of mated Gold Stripe Maroon clowns, a pair of mated Ocellaris clowns, few anemones (carpet and bubble tip)and mostly soft corals right now. Have a 100lb live sand bed and 180lbs of live rock with the 90 tank and a 30 gal sump. Dual Aqua C skimmers and Metal Halide (2) with 2 Power Compact Actinics...

It's coming along nicely.

Main thing with a reef tank is the rock and do not use a wet/dry filter. Bio Balls create high nitrate levels. Use a sump (plain old fish tank or a acrylic sump with dividers) with a refugium. The refugium will draw all nitrates and almost all phosphates out of the system and the live rock will be your filter for ammonia and nitrite conversion.. almost need a degree in chemistry to do this lol. I use B-Ionic for calcium and alkalinity stabilization... Kalkwasser is a pain because the need for CO2 gets more expensive.

Any questions you kno where to find me lol

Dexmeister
03-21-2005, 09:44 AM
Wow, nice setup! I made many mistakes at the misdirection of my aquarium dealer. Had a wet/dry filter, bio balls, tank too small, etc etc etc... I ended up wishing I had started with a 100+ gallon tank and entirely different equipment... 4 grand later.

Anyone that gets into salt without knowing anything is doomed. You really do need a bio degree to do it right. When I started I was just blown away with all the variables, chemical issues etc etc. Bought The Reef Aquarium book for $200 bucks which told me "you don't know ~@!#" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Oh well, wrong forum, eh? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Hunter82
03-21-2005, 10:00 AM
look who's listed as a mod http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif j/k

TgD Thunderbolt56
03-21-2005, 10:20 AM
IBTL! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/353.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

Dexmeister
03-21-2005, 10:21 AM
If I were a mod, I'd be on top of things like this. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

To keep this on topic, do you think it's feasible for me to use a wet/dry filter and bio balls as a combination of liquid/air cooling for my PC, and then use the protein skimmer to replace the regular engine sounds on the rare occasion that I happen to get my engine damaged from enemy gunfire? I figure these are good ideas, and I may even be able to add one of my water circulator pumps on top of my monitor and hook it up to spray air at me whenever it's a) raining and b) I've had my canopy damaged or open.

The possibilities are endless, but with these tweaks to start, I'd be in simmer heaven http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Monson74
03-21-2005, 01:09 PM
Well - we ARE geeks after all http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

Hunter82
03-21-2005, 01:32 PM
I`m going to ban myself

HelSqnProtos
03-21-2005, 01:56 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hunter82:
Can't really give any information more than Oleg has said yet Dex. As Oleg has said earlier it will increase demand as the AI and User will be on the same FM and the increased calculations involved. As soon as I can give any information that is cleared by Oleg I will....


BTW OT I just started a new 90 Gal Reef tank in Feb... I'll send pics when I get it more together http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

S~! Hunter

I realize that testing is still underway and that Oleg desires secrecy till he is ready. However perhaps you can allieviate some of the fear around the new patch in regards to this question. I think most people are psyched about the new FM but afraid of cpu hit. I think it is reasonable to assume that offline players will be hit the worst.

Does this also apply to ONLINERS -- as far as I know online the only calculations made are clientside - the server handles the calculations for the other planes. Is this correct and would the new patch effect online performance negatively or will it just remain the same?

JunkoIfurita
03-21-2005, 04:02 PM
HelSqn, I'm not affiliated with the team, but from what I've heard performance for online play will be affected as well, albeit not as severely as single player.

After all, it's a new flight model with more complex calculations - if you have a lot of players in the air being calculated under the same FM as the AI, then you have the same performance hit, whether they are AI or player-controlled aircraft.

For the SP, it may just mean that less people can play with massed (100 strong) bomber groups.

----

Hunter82
03-21-2005, 05:01 PM
sorry can't say anything until told ok

LEXX_Luthor
03-21-2005, 05:45 PM
Online War, with many AI planes filling out the ranks, may feel the crunch.

fordfan25
03-21-2005, 06:11 PM
i hope if it proves to be a problem for the some that hyper lobbie will be able to keep a few rooms open to the current version of the game.

DeerHunterUK
03-22-2005, 02:06 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hunter82:
I`m going to ban myself <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
If you ban yerself can I have yer cookies? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

PF_Coastie
03-22-2005, 04:15 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hunter82:
I`m going to ban myself <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

Good thread!

Hunter82
03-23-2005, 03:50 PM
C is for cookie and that's good enough for me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by DeerHunterUK:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hunter82:
I`m going to ban myself <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
If you ban yerself can I have yer cookies? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hunter82
03-23-2005, 03:52 PM
It's actually very on topic.... PF is a Pacific based sim.... my fish tank is filled with corals and fish from many of the areas the fighting took place http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hunter82:
I`m going to ban myself <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

Good thread! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

LEXX_Luthor
03-23-2005, 10:12 PM
I stepped back from Panicking and did some Re~thinking, and I "remembered" that the worst offline performance hit happens when the AI enter combat--both aircraft and anti~aircraft AI shooting. The combat shooting, and possibly AI combat routines, are what cripples a large formation battle (also, and all the bomber crew parachutes which can be turned OFF now however).

So, if our missions already have large number of AI aircraft, AA, and Ships, at good framerate, and don't bog down when they enter battle together, we have a good chance of not being crippled by any New FM.

LEXX_Luthor
03-23-2005, 10:24 PM
Dexmeister:: <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>I'm debating spending the time to redo my whole install & PC setup, <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Yes, a clean install (and clean Windows) can help alot.

Make backups of important game files.

Krt_Bong
03-23-2005, 10:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Dexmeister:
I'm sorry if this has been discussed in the numerous threads about the patch, but I'd love to have a definitive answer from someone who knows.

Simply put, can anyone say whether the patch will cause increased or decreased load on our PCs, and/or whether we can expect performance to be the same, better or worse?

PF has introduced some serious overhead that I haven't yet been able to work around. I've tried the multiple versions, read the tech area for tweak tips and followed those, lowered my resolution and graphics options as well as performance expectations, and honestly haven't gotten things up to an acceptable level yet.

Many previous IL2-series patches have caused improvements in performance, what about 4.0?

I'm debating spending the time to redo my whole install & PC setup, as well as adding a new HOTAS setup, but if 4.0 is going to cause even a 10% performance loss, I may want to rethink that.

Any help appreciated from those that know.

Thx <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Have you read Luckyboys guide at Airwarfare.com ? This has helped me immensely

F4U_Flyer
03-23-2005, 11:00 PM
Although i dont play online ( dialup ) it seems this fm testing is going to fracture the whole il2 community! Some will have comps to play it and others will have problems which by its self splits them to start. Next , the much anticipated patch will add items but kill framerates for those with lesser computers thus making addons obsolete for some. I believe all fm changes should be done seperately from the updates or this game will cease to exsist for those with lesser computers. Its bad enough that to get the full feel of the game you are required to add the fb and aep ( got them all ) but next we will be required to update computers to play a game we already have, or do without "promised" features .

Cattail4
03-25-2005, 08:50 AM
The more I read about this the more questions I have. IMHO there a two reasons that 1C would want to change the FM......forget about all the pie in the sky reasons many tout in these forums. The FM is being "upgraded" so we........the FB AEP PF community can become beta testers for BoB......or, Oleg is thinking of making BoB another "add on" to the FB AEP PF series. By doing this he has a built in base that will HAVE to purchase BoB to be able to fly online with their buds, even if they have no interest in a BoB sim...(like me)

A very good marketing ploy that worked with PF. Either way time will tell.

carguy_
03-25-2005, 08:58 AM
I`m also very concerned about this.I average about a 36fps on a 16player online sortie and have some half second stutters.

This can mean I will not be even able to play the game.

Aaron_GT
03-25-2005, 09:45 AM
"Yes, a clean install (and clean Windows) can help alot."

It is a worrying aspect of Windows that this is true. I've just had to reinstall myself (I upgraded hardware and then couldn't log in to reactivate windows, as I needed to active windows to be able to log in to reactive windows, and I could only install the drivers for my network card to allow an automatic reactivation if I could log in...). So I'll see what improvement I get with a better processor, higher FSB AND a fresh install of everything!

With regards to the AI FM I hope there is an option to keep the AI FM as a simplified FM as before.