PDA

View Full Version : Dont look at the sound files folder!!



Dominicrigg
04-06-2005, 01:21 PM
Caus i just did and it really depressed me, i realised all the cool things they were going to put in and didnt for whatever reason.

Now... Who do i blame it on??

Dominicrigg
04-06-2005, 01:21 PM
Caus i just did and it really depressed me, i realised all the cool things they were going to put in and didnt for whatever reason.

Now... Who do i blame it on??

macker33
04-07-2005, 12:09 AM
Theres bound to be something in one of the cfg files,just make backups first.

Johan217
04-07-2005, 03:09 AM
If you look in the data/config folder you will find files called Message_CH.cfg etc. These contain references to some (but not all) speech files in the game. I still haven't found any references for the remaining speech files. Would be great if someone knew.

Someone wrote that when you use English speech, you can hear the crew cheer when you destroy a ship. You do not hear this with German speech. This got me thinking...

... and then I found a way to bring the crew cheers into German speech http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I presume this method works for other speech files that are present in the English dialogue but not in German.

Step 1: Go into the Speech and Speech_En folders. Each contains folders named 1 to 9. In all folders 1 to 9, find the files ono_cheers01.ogg etc. You'll see that the Speech_En actually contains more of these files than the German folders. Copy these files into the corresponding German folders: ono_cheers03.ogg and so on.

Step 2: Rename the Speech folder into Speech_En and rename the original Speech_En folder into Speech.

Step 3: Start SH3, go into Options and set Crew Dialogue to English

Then start a mission and torpedo a ship. One of the guys in the Tower will cheer when you hit

However!
- I noticed a few problems with speech synchronisation: in some instances the speech is slightly overlapping.
- The German crew will sometimes yell Yes! which is rather inappropriate http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif To work around this, do not copy the English speech files, but make copies of the German ono_cheers01.ogg file and rename them into ono_cheers03.ogg etc until you have the same number of files as in the English folder.

(Original topic at Subsim.com: http://www.subsim.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=32347)

Dominicrigg
04-07-2005, 04:44 AM
Cool thanks guys!! I will try that, now how to get the blow ballast noise and the compressed air noise in http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Any ideas?

I cant wait to get home now http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

bweiss
04-07-2005, 04:51 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>However!
- I noticed a few problems with speech synchronisation: in some instances the speech is slightly overlapping.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Now I'm wondering if this is what the "synchronize" option in the "Options" setup is for? Rome Total War, has a similar "synchronize" option which, is not for Vsync as many have speculated about SH3's option, but rather to synchronize the sound/video output for the zoom (in RTW) to low level battle scenes of the troops fighting, shouting, and horses galloping and so forth.

What you said above that you found made me think of this and I now wonder if this is actually what the synchronize option in SH3 might be for, or was intended for? Note that the setup option for synchronize in SH3 is turned "off", rather than on, which one would think should be "on" rather than off for a newly installed setup. Unless, it is something that wasn't completely finished and thus turned off until future improvements.

Just a thought.

Johan217
04-07-2005, 07:55 AM
What I mean by "speech synchronisation" is that in some instances (not for all voices and only in some situations) there is a slight overlap when different speech files are played. Nothing to do with lip synchronisation http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Sorry if that wasn't clear.

I am quite sure that the synchronisation setting in the graphics options is for Vsync (I believe it says in the manual or readme)