PDA

View Full Version : All time newest newbie ever - what's the hook?

tcar_101
06-01-2006, 03:24 AM
Ok sorry everyone for being so ignorant but can you answer a few questions for me? Hope so. I am no flightsim newbie btw- I am a big LOMAC fan..

I don't get this game. There is a lot of hype going around about these flight sims so I finally stumped up the cash for the gold pack IL-2/FB/PF and well, (1) how the hell do you learn to do anything? I have done all the training missions, I have done a few landings on carriers, a few single missions etc but I still have this unmistakable feeling that I don't have a clue what I'm doing.

For example, when I take off behind a group of other, identical planes, they dissappear into the sky. I can't keep up! What am I missing here?

Whats with all the barking of heading orders mid dogfight? What should I be doing? If I don't nail this sucker he'll nail me and my group leader is screaming "heading 020 you idiot" at me. WTF?!!

For example, I started the peal harbor single mission for the japanese, took out a couple of fighters, got to the ships and then couldn't drop a single bomb! And more concerningly, I can't find anywhere the controls to do so, even on the net! I assume its assigned to one of my joystick buttons but seriously, how am I supposed to know which one?

Also, (2) what is going on with these campaigns? I started one last night and in two missions I haven't seen a single enemy. Am I missing something? Where does the fun start? The campaigns have a few lines of text telling you mostly irrelevant tit tat about some advancing front and then bang you're in the mission. Is this supposed to be a replication of what it was really like - did pilots not know what was happening? I seriously have no desire to enter another campaign - they are so well, weak and diluted and random and completely non-addictive. hmmm...