PDA

View Full Version : Need some help on Resolution fix issue when PrtScr cause hangups



Wolfehunter
10-24-2008, 11:51 PM
I have a problem taking tga shots using Resolution fix,

Happens to hang the game when I take the second shot using the Prtscr.

On my old system it would lag but it always took a shot and sometimes a black TGA showed but mostly 7 out of 10 shots hold true.

New rig 1 in 2 shots hold true but thats it. CTD or Hang.

Old Rig was.
Vista 32 Ultimate
Intel P4 3.2E GHZ 800MHz 1mb L2 cache PGA 478
Intel D865PERLX motherboard w/snd w/lan
OCZ Titanium Dual Channel PC3200 1meg chips 2325
XFX Nvidia GeForce7800GT 256meg AGP
Soundblaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Western Digital WD2000JD 200Gigs SATA
LG GSA-H10L DVD Burner

New rig
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Dell XPS 730
Intel Quad Core 2 Q9550 (12mb, 2.83GHz, 1333FSB)
Nforce 790i SLI Mboard
4GB Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1333Mhz
750GB Seagate 7200 SATA 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache
Nvidia GeForce GTX280 1024megs
Default 16x CD/DVD burner
Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme

I get this error with my new rig trying to take screenshots,

Description:
A problem caused this program to stop interacting with Windows.
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: AppHangB1
Application Name: sh3.exe
Application Version: 1.4.0.1
Application Timestamp: 00000000
Hang Signature: e8f4
Hang Type: 2048
OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 4105
Additional Hang Signature 1: 780001ff5bed2f1a4cf54573e6aa0ad0
Additional Hang Signature 2: 1665
Additional Hang Signature 3: 50981315c1b209a09b5e8ed5acdf24ae
Additional Hang Signature 4: e8f4
Additional Hang Signature 5: 780001ff5bed2f1a4cf54573e6aa0ad0
Additional Hang Signature 6: 1665
Additional Hang Signature 7: 50981315c1b209a09b5e8ed5acdf24ae

The d3d9.cfg settings are,

;
; DX9res Settings
; by Kegetys <kegetys@dnainternet.net>
;
; Note that this config is reloaded on device reset, so you can task switch out
; of the game, change settings from this file and then return
;
[config]
; ResX: Horizontal resolution setting
; ResY: Vertical resolution setting
; useFiltering: Use linear filtering for UI elements
; enableScreenshots: Hook printscreen keypress to save TGA screenshot
resX=1680
resY=1050
useFiltering=1
enableScreenshots=1
screenshotPath=C:\****\Pictures\SilentHunter3 Pics
[gamma]
; setGamma: Override gamma ramp
; gammaRed: Red channel gamma (1.0 = normal, decrease to add brightess, increase to darken)
; gammaGreen: Green channel gamma (1.0 = normal, decrease to add brightess, increase to darken)
; gammaBlue: Blue channel gamma (1.0 = normal, decrease to add brightess, increase to darken)
setGamma=0
gammaRed=1.0
gammaGreen=1.0
gammaBlue=1.0


I'm looking for some serious tech help pls.

Last shot before the crash and I can't keep doing this with the risk of the game crashing every 2nd screenshot.

http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff110/WolfeXhunter/Hangshot.jpg

Someone already suggest video memory isn't enough but I can't understand that since I have 3 times more video memory and 2 times more ram.


Id appreciate any help especially from UBi tech guys if their here...

Thanks.

WH

tuddley3
10-25-2008, 05:36 AM
Try this my friend : Photobie (http://www.photobie.com/)

VikingGrandad
10-25-2008, 05:45 AM
Originally posted by Wolfehunter:
I have a problem taking tga shots using Resolution fix,

Happens to hang the game when I take the second shot using the Prtscr.

On my old system it would lag but it always took a shot and sometimes a black TGA showed but mostly 7 out of 10 shots hold true.

New rig 1 in 2 shots hold true but thats it. CTD or Hang.

I've used MWSnap with the Res Fix for years:

http://www.mirekw.com/winfreeware/mwsnap.html

Wolfehunter
10-25-2008, 07:21 AM
Thanks guys I'm going to give it a try and see.

Tuddley first

VG next..
Using 64bit vista so I have to see which works better.

Once again thanks.

Update VGs suggest won. Tuddley your program isn't stable in Vista 64. I get CTDs sometimes.

Still a cool program.

At least now I can take some nice shots...