PDA

View Full Version : What's so great about the FW-190?

Warbird-
09-17-2005, 11:27 PM
I play this game for more than one year. I'm just an average pilot, far from being an expert on the technical aspects of each plane, although I have tested all planes in the game.

But I noticed since the beginning that the Focke-Wolf 190 is kind of a "cult" plane to a lot of people. I even have seen, more than once, people saying that, for example, the Me Bf-109 is a toy plane while the FW-190 is "the" plane.

I would like to understand this, because to me the Bf-109 is a faster plane with better weapons (there's nothing more powerful than its U6 cannons). Besides that, the FW is one of the most difficult planes to handle in the game. Even the Spitfire and the Yak-3P seems to be more effective than the FW.

Opinions?

Warbird-
09-17-2005, 11:27 PM
I play this game for more than one year. I'm just an average pilot, far from being an expert on the technical aspects of each plane, although I have tested all planes in the game.

But I noticed since the beginning that the Focke-Wolf 190 is kind of a "cult" plane to a lot of people. I even have seen, more than once, people saying that, for example, the Me Bf-109 is a toy plane while the FW-190 is "the" plane.

I would like to understand this, because to me the Bf-109 is a faster plane with better weapons (there's nothing more powerful than its U6 cannons). Besides that, the FW is one of the most difficult planes to handle in the game. Even the Spitfire and the Yak-3P seems to be more effective than the FW.

Opinions?

Kuna15
09-17-2005, 11:38 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">What's so great about the FW-190? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Big guns (destroying target in in one pass).
Dive speed (+stability).
Roll rate.
Toughness (ability to sustain more battle damage).

In that order.