PDA

View Full Version : AI gunners

megalopsuche
03-23-2009, 02:32 PM
Alright, so I am still pretty new to Il-2 and learning more and more about what the game has to offer. I did some searches, and I see I am not alone in the opinion that the AI gunners are ridiculous. It doesn't seem to be much of an issue in offline play, where only a minority of the bombers you come across are "Aces," but in online play "Ace" seems to be default for gunners on the Skies of Valor server.

Do these settings change from server to server? I'd like an online experience without death star bombers using AI to attack fighters in the middle of a furball. A server with no AI gunners at all would be even better.

To me, it's a little surprising that you guys still have AI gunners for online play in Il-2. We had them years ago in Warbirds, and "Otto" was a real crack-shot. They tried all sorts of fixes to tone it down, e.g. g-limitations, pitch/bank limitations, but the final fix, in the descendant game Aces High, is for there to be no AI gunners at all on bombers. Players must gun for their own bombers, i.e. learn to shoot from all the defensive positions. Here in Il-2 I see guys rolling their SBD's inverted to train their AI gunners on an attacker, and, again, it's astonishing that this kind of thing is tolerated.

megalopsuche
03-23-2009, 02:32 PM
Alright, so I am still pretty new to Il-2 and learning more and more about what the game has to offer. I did some searches, and I see I am not alone in the opinion that the AI gunners are ridiculous. It doesn't seem to be much of an issue in offline play, where only a minority of the bombers you come across are "Aces," but in online play "Ace" seems to be default for gunners on the Skies of Valor server.

Do these settings change from server to server? I'd like an online experience without death star bombers using AI to attack fighters in the middle of a furball. A server with no AI gunners at all would be even better.