PDA

View Full Version : Hurricane MkII & Burma

Archer_F4U
03-25-2006, 11:12 PM
I'm most looking forward to Burma to make and fly some long-range Beaufighter missions - out to hunt down trains, boats, and whatever else I see hidden in the jungle. It may not be the right variant of the Beaufighter, but it's close enough. I'd love to be able to fly the entire range of RAF 3rd Tactical Air Force missions once we get the Burma map though, from tactical reconnaisance to ground attack and tactical bombing.

I realize there's likely no chance of a Beaufighter MkVI or TF.X, a Vultee Vengeance, a Hurricane IID or IV, any other plane we don't have, or tropical air filters added to IIBs and Cs. The one thing I hope will be changed before or with the release of the Burma map is the weapon loadouts for the Hurricane IIB and C.

I'm far from an expert on Hurricanes, but after a quick look at several internet sites that range from personal sites with and without references to organizations that (hopefully) know what they're talking about, it seems they are almost all in agreement that Hurricane IIBs and Cs could carry two 250lb bombs, two 500 lb bombs. From sometime in 1941 after April, they could carry external fuel tanks, and, from September 1943, eight RPs.

The best I've found in my readings of the 3rd TAF in the past few days is that of No.224 Group, most of their fighter-bomber squadrons were Hurricane MkIICs, which makes the inclusion of at the very least bombs for the Cs quite important.

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/History/1940s/Images/Hurri-Burma-Cart.jpg
An RAF Hurricane II [obviously a C from the cannons] armed with bombs at a forward airfield.
From: http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/History/1940s/Hurris.html

Can we expect the Hurricane IIB and IIC to gain weapon loadouts by the time the Burma map is released to allow somewhat accurate missions of the 3rd TAF to be made and flown?

Archer_F4U
03-25-2006, 11:12 PM