PDA

View Full Version : Why do people fly on HL ?

Shrike_UK
11-10-2004, 07:05 AM
This is just a question with some facts, and my opinion, so please no flaming, if you have different fact and opinion please tell me.

I have been flying for 4 years on UBI, ive tried HL because everyone serious about getting into squads goes there. Im only on HL now, i made the transition last month http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif , because i had to, to join a squad and have squad tourneys, i have made my own squad on Ubi in the past, but we never have opposition. Why squads go to HL is a mystery to me. HL is lacking severely in functionality (my opinion) compared to Ubi and is sometimes very frustrating to use with no descriptions of what buttons do, and commands that you have to type in which are in a manual you need to read first, instead of having buttons or option menus, it also has annoying player lists that reset your list scroller to the top each time, so you have trouble selecting anyone, also, there are 2 lists, 1 for ingame, one for not ingame. i do not understand why this is done, you have to look for same person on 2 lists, ubi just 1, but despite all this it has 5 times more people on it for some bizarre reason. Okay, some may argue that theres not many commands to remember, but hey, that not many buttons for the developer to make then is it, why should i have to remember any commands? also, version should be shown next to room so you dont have to click on each one to find a PF combined. either that or people should really be naming ther rooms better saying what exact verion theyre running.

I only found 1 person with a fair arguement for HL over UBI and that was because they was using a router, and UBI is not very router freindly thus they cannot host, nobody has ever come up with an argument where HL functionality is different or better.