PDA

View Full Version : Routers?? Which one is the best??



XyZspineZyX
09-06-2003, 06:24 PM
~S!~ Fellow IL-2

Guys....I have a Linksys BEFS41. It is okay for the most part...but I'm having a terrible time getting it to allow hosting of games like IL-2. Having lots of problems with it with the upgrade firmware...that made it worst!

It is being replaced!! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

My question please is there a router out there that is easy to set-up....four ports in the back and allows me to set it up for hosting??

I'm looking at D-Link Di-604 Ethernet Broadband Router.

http://gamesfirst.com/reviews/shawn/di-604/di604.htm

Any inputs on this issue?

Thank You

Falcon


<center>http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig07.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-06-2003, 06:24 PM
~S!~ Fellow IL-2

Guys....I have a Linksys BEFS41. It is okay for the most part...but I'm having a terrible time getting it to allow hosting of games like IL-2. Having lots of problems with it with the upgrade firmware...that made it worst!

It is being replaced!! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

My question please is there a router out there that is easy to set-up....four ports in the back and allows me to set it up for hosting??

I'm looking at D-Link Di-604 Ethernet Broadband Router.

http://gamesfirst.com/reviews/shawn/di-604/di604.htm

Any inputs on this issue?

Thank You

Falcon


<center>http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig07.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-06-2003, 08:31 PM
I have cable and bought a new pc, so I was in need of a router to be able to run both pcs. I didnt want to spend much so I got me a 40$ Belkin router. Both my pcs run windows xp. I did nothing more then plug it in and connect the cad cables and it was up and running. I then DMZd my pc to host and recieve file transfers. That is all i need to do and it took only a matter of minutes. I have yet to run into any problems whatsoever. Cant beat that /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-06-2003, 08:39 PM
I have never hosted a dogfight on HL but I have hosted many coops.I have also hosted many dogfights via ip to ip.

I have an old SMC 7004r router.It comes with a serial port and a print server.I have had no problems with it at all.It is stock configuration.No upgrades.I got it cheap new on ebay.I do not think they make it anymore.There is a newer version 7004br.

I have read that the Linksys is also good.

You might try going to http://www.broadbandreports.com.Look in the forums.There is a section there for equipment.You can read what problems/solutions/praise that people are having.

XyZspineZyX
09-06-2003, 08:40 PM
http://www.dlink.com/products/?model/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif I-704P

Love it DLink DI-704P that is... can`t get read of that smile in the link dang

Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan
http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub


Message Edited on 09/06/03 08:41PM by crazyivan1970

Message Edited on 09/06/0308:42PM by crazyivan1970

XyZspineZyX
09-06-2003, 08:43 PM
I have a D-Link 704 a few years old and still doing good service. If I get a new one I will go for a wireless router, moore expensive but a thing for the future and a few less cables behind the desk.
Master

XyZspineZyX
09-06-2003, 10:06 PM
Funny, I also have LinkSys BEFS41, firmware 1.42.6, Mar 11 2002 - it works great. I been dealing with many routre and if asked to recommend one - it definitely going to be LinkSys BEFS41.
Be aware - older LinkSys BEFS41 routers (like mine) <u>could not/should not</u> be upgraded to "latest" firmware.


AKA_Bogun

---------------
The difference between fiction and reality? Fiction has to make sense.

- Tom Clancy

XyZspineZyX
09-06-2003, 11:46 PM
S!

Thanks guys with the info.

Bogun my BEFS41 is two years old.....and it does not like the new firmware at all. Had to default the router back to old firmware and settings. It is a great router...just having problems with configuing it to be able to host Il-2 games. I can play with no problems...just can't host.

Falcon

<center>http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig07.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-09-2003, 04:54 AM
crazyivan1970 said "can`t get read of that smile in the link dang"

You mean like below?? (sorry, won't probably appear as a link>


I-704P" target=_blank>http://www.dlink.com/products/?model I-704P


Love it DLink DI-704P that is... can`t get read of that smile in the link dang


Easy to do,..
Just turn off "Enable Smilies" below the Body Text box before sending your message.


jba

The difficulty of making something fool proof is that fools are so da** creative. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-09-2003, 04:58 AM
make sure you get one that is plug and play compatable.



<center> http://webpages.charter.net/Stick_Fiend/images/crazyPilot.gif
<font size= 2>

"Altitude, speed, maneuver, fire!"-The "formula of Terror" of Aleksandr Pokryshkin, Three times awarded the rank of Hero of the Soviet Union

XyZspineZyX
09-09-2003, 07:23 AM
604 HERE dAVE

nARY A PROBLEM /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<center>http://www.gamespy.com/legacy/top10/movievillains/hal9000.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-09-2003, 08:19 AM
http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DI%2D604
Good site for the 604 and, he rest of D-Link, it even got an emulator and training facility.

Master

XyZspineZyX
09-09-2003, 08:22 AM
Got a Lynksys wireless router for my mother's adsl and it's golden.

rogo

<center><img src =http://www.uploadit.org/files/080903-rogo2.jpg>



"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-09-2003, 05:56 PM
Falcon_777_AVG wrote:
- S!
-
- Thanks guys with the info.
-
- Bogun my BEFS41 is two years old.....and it does not
- like the new firmware at all. Had to default the
- router back to old firmware and settings. It is a
- great router...just having problems with configuing
- it to be able to host Il-2 games. I can play with
- no problems...just can't host.
-
- Falcon

I host regularly for my squad and was hosting coops for IronSkies (about 20 pilots) - no problems. Did you try 1.42.6 firmware?

AKA_Bogun

---------------
The difference between fiction and reality? Fiction has to make sense.

- Tom Clancy