PDA

View Full Version : Time to upgrade my computer I think.



ForkTailedDevil
02-04-2005, 10:53 AM
So lately it seems my computer plays FB/PF worse and worse. No matter what I do it takes for ever to load and if a lot is going on my frame rate slows down to a crawl. I have a AMD 1600, 512DDR ram and a G-force FX graphics card it has 128MB DDR ram. I am getting a tax return soon should I plan on uprgrading everything? Or could I get away with just a faster proccesor?

ForkTailedDevil
02-04-2005, 10:53 AM
So lately it seems my computer plays FB/PF worse and worse. No matter what I do it takes for ever to load and if a lot is going on my frame rate slows down to a crawl. I have a AMD 1600, 512DDR ram and a G-force FX graphics card it has 128MB DDR ram. I am getting a tax return soon should I plan on uprgrading everything? Or could I get away with just a faster proccesor?

Atomic_Marten
02-04-2005, 11:13 AM
It really depends.. how much money you are willing to spend on upgrade. On first look another 512 RAM and 128mb VGA should do it but it's all up to your (budgethttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif).

I have recently upgraded to AMD64 3.2, 1GIG RAM, and I have a little memory problems, and I have solved it. PF is runing excellent. No stutters anymore (I have left water on excellent -- everything else is on highest setting).

FoolTrottel
02-04-2005, 11:21 AM
Post this in the tech forum (Community Help), with DxDiags included.
Maybe this can be tuned a bit....
Smart ppl there can tell you what to upgrade.

SeminoleX
02-04-2005, 11:23 AM
I'm wondering just how far into the future before we will be needing 64 bit technology,4gigs of RAM, and say a Nvida series 8000 1024 mb series to run our sims.

Maybe the new BoB will be one of these.

Aero_Shodanjo
02-04-2005, 11:33 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by SeminoleX:
I'm wondering just how far into the future before we will be needing 64 bit technology,4gigs of RAM, and say a Nvida series 8000 1024 mb series to run our sims.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Actually I have just that kind of system. A bit better perhaps since I have 128 bit processor but the rest are the same...

...Oh wait, got to wake up http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Uber_4ce
02-04-2005, 11:52 AM
Yep, time for an upgrade.

ForkTailedDevil
02-04-2005, 12:03 PM
Can an admin move this to tech?? Thanks.

Greenwidth
02-04-2005, 03:53 PM
Almost same as mine - except I have an XP1800.
Runs ok for me, apart from when playing online in a room with more than 40 players. Then it chugs.

VW-IceFire
02-04-2005, 05:41 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ForkTailedDevil:
So lately it seems my computer plays FB/PF worse and worse. No matter what I do it takes for ever to load and if a lot is going on my frame rate slows down to a crawl. I have a AMD 1600, 512DDR ram and a G-force FX graphics card it has 128MB DDR ram. I am getting a tax return soon should I plan on uprgrading everything? Or could I get away with just a faster proccesor? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
When a computer gets slower and slower, thats a software problem. Like your OS....like spyware, viruses, improperly installed drivers, bad entries in the windows registry, insufficient hard drive space, dynamic page files instead of static page files, etc.

Reformat...that'll do it. And keep it clean.

fabianfred
02-04-2005, 06:06 PM
since il2 then FB then AEP then PF they all add extra planes, maps, objects etc. so I do not get surprised when my machine seems to get slower
Athlon XP2200+ (1800mhz)
1.5 gig ram
geforce 4 mX440 128mb

i build HUGE missions but put up with going to half speed sometimes....
yes... i would go for a complete new machine if I were you....3gb cpu ...2gb ram... 6800 card http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif