PDA

View Full Version : No cd key required



ColRevan
05-08-2011, 07:43 AM
Hey guys,

I bought the game about a month ago and I wasnt able to solve the connection problem yet.
I tried using the Ubisoft support but so far nothing changed. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

I think the problem is that I haven't been required for any cd key registration, which I found quite stupid. If there is a key I suppose we have to use it some where.

Thank you for reading
and PLEASE answer something!

ColRevan
05-08-2011, 07:43 AM
Hey guys,

I bought the game about a month ago and I wasnt able to solve the connection problem yet.
I tried using the Ubisoft support but so far nothing changed. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

I think the problem is that I haven't been required for any cd key registration, which I found quite stupid. If there is a key I suppose we have to use it some where.

Thank you for reading
and PLEASE answer something!

KingDaniel0
05-08-2011, 07:50 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ColRevan:

I think the problem is that I haven't been required for any cd key registration, which I found quite stupid. If there is a key I suppose we have to use it some where. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Which Copy of the Game do you have, RETAIL disk or STEAM/digital download version ? Have you previously registered the Game before from your UBISoft account ?

Because Brotherhood can also be played OFFLINE, but, If you would like to access Uplay, exclusive content, and multiplayer/MP features you will need to log into your Uplay account and enter the CD-Key included with your game.

Are you using some other Account/Username now to LOG-in and Play this Game ?



----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ColRevan
05-08-2011, 08:12 AM
I have the retail disk.
The only registration I have done didn't required any cd key.

I've already completed the game offline and now I would very much like to access uplay exclusive content and multiplayer stuff.
I havent registered in Uplay because I couldnt find anywhere in the Uplay website to do so.

I'm using this very same account.

KingDaniel0
05-08-2011, 08:27 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ColRevan:
I have the retail disk.
The only registration I have done didn't required any cd key.

I'm using this very same account. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Alright, first have a look here under this Link. Does it ask you to Enter the CD-KEY, after when you LOG-in with your Username/Password, and Click on the 'LOG IN TO PLAY' button as shown here ?

http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/ap...rs/detail/a_id/14702 (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14702)



------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ColRevan
05-08-2011, 08:44 AM
I can't even login at that point! I have the "Internet Access/Connection Problem". I cant solve it on my own, I don't understand much about computers...

I tried to install it on other computer, as suggested by ubi support, but it stil doesnt work...

ColRevan
05-08-2011, 08:49 AM
I tried the procedure on the FAQ's but nothing worked...

Mr_Shade
05-08-2011, 09:17 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ColRevan:
I can't even login at that point! I have the "Internet Access/Connection Problem". I cant solve it on my own, I don't understand much about computers...

I tried to install it on other computer, as suggested by ubi support, but it stil doesnt work... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>are you seeing this screen?


http://www.alienlife.co.uk/ubi/14707_image1_it.jpg
If so please read the following:


Error: An Internet Connection is Required to Play This Game (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13320)

You normally don't need to alter the host file, unless someone / something has stopped your PC contacting the Ubi DRM / online servers for some reason...

It is however an easy fix - if you have that issue.

ColRevan
05-08-2011, 09:34 AM
I've already try to do that:
I don't have an anti virus (problem 1 solved)
I am not using any proxy server.
plus, I have no "settings.ini" file located in any directory of the game...

KingDaniel0
05-08-2011, 09:46 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ColRevan:

plus, I have no "settings.ini" file located in any directory of the game... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I think, Since the new GameLauncher update, UBI GameLauncher path has been changed to this i.e.: "c:\Users\&lt;username&gt;\AppData\Local\Ubisoft Game Launcher\settings.yml". This is for Windows 7/Vista, and the above folders may be hidden.

The settings.ini file has been changed to the format "settings.yml". For XP the path should be e.g. C:\Documents and Settings\User Name\Local Settings\Application Data\Ubisoft Game Launcher.

If you cannot find this file, then do a Windows SEARCH for it (also look under hidden files/folders).

Have you also tried Deleting the Windows HOSTS.txt file from C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc ?



--------------------------------------------------------------------

ColRevan
05-08-2011, 10:00 AM
found it! but its not working yet...

No, I haven't tried to delete host.txt, should I do that?

I have to mention that I have connection problems even before the "login window" appears.
I don't know how to show it to you but the technical log shows this text:
"Trying to get update information to C:\Users\RUIOLI~1\AppData\Local\Temp\ubi719C.tmp.
Found update (Patch, all, all).
Trying to download update file from http://static3.cdn.ubi.com/ac_...herhoodd_1.02_EU.exe (http://static3.cdn.ubi.com/ac_brotherhood/ac_brotherhoodd_1.02_EU.exe). Destination: C:\Users\RUIOLI~1\AppData\Local\Temp\ubi7352.tmp.e xe.
Fatal download error (Connect failed).
Deleting downloaded data."

Will this problem be solved as well?

KingDaniel0
05-08-2011, 10:05 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ColRevan:
found it! but its not working yet...

No, I haven't tried to delete host.txt, should I do that? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Alright, try to DELETE the Hosts file, but first make a BACKUP of this file !

The other error which you are getting, is an UPDATE error. Yes I think, we can solve this error by Manually PATCHING the game, imo....But first, try the HOSTS.txt file trick, and see if that helps you or not ?

Disable your Windows Firewall for the time being.



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

ColRevan
05-08-2011, 10:36 AM
Its working!!
Thank you VERY much! You're my personal Jesus Christ! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Mr_Shade
05-08-2011, 10:49 AM
Glad it's working http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

If deleting the host file worked - it is listed as a fix in the pinned thread - just sorry you missed it, since you could have already been playing http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif