PDA

View Full Version : Are wide screen lcd monitors any use for gaming?



FI-finbar1
06-06-2005, 06:48 AM
Guys I need your help,I'm planning on ditching my CRT,and there are a few good offers on wide screen 20" Monitors,are they good for gaming?

FI-finbar1
06-06-2005, 06:48 AM
Guys I need your help,I'm planning on ditching my CRT,and there are a few good offers on wide screen 20" Monitors,are they good for gaming?

lbhskier37
06-06-2005, 07:30 AM
right now in IL2 you can manually set the resolution in the config files to fill a widescreen monitor. But, all the config is doing is stretching the original image to fill the wider screen, so you don't really gain a wider viewing angle and your view will be stretched horizontally.

jessi1
06-06-2005, 07:48 AM
Dont do it, i bought a 32 inch widescreen lcd and although the game worked and it looked cool the planes from in the cockpit looked very stretched and sort of fat looking, also i had a little ghosting that i could not no matter what i tried fix, i returned it and got a 22inch samsung and all is well again, just my 2 cents but i feel its not worth the money or hassle, all you get is a strecthed game. salute

ednavar
06-06-2005, 07:53 AM
No probs here with a 32" Sharp: I've been using it 6 months now and it is really immersive.

http://www.fiorentin.com/misc/sharp.jpg

Slechtvalk
06-06-2005, 08:15 AM
From my study the Dell Ultrasharp 2005FPW 20-inch wide screen is a very good buy. I am considering buying it myself very seriously.

You need to adjust the config file to the right resolution from your lcd wide screen so it won't stretch out.

Nice setup Ednavar http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

lbhskier37
06-06-2005, 12:15 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Slechtvalk:
From my study the Dell Ultrasharp 2005FPW 20-inch wide screen is a very good buy. I am considering buying it myself very seriously.

You need to adjust the config file to the right resolution from your lcd wide screen so it won't stretch out.

Nice setup Ednavar http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

It would still stretch out because your field of view is going to be the same as on a non-widescreen monitor.

Slechtvalk
06-06-2005, 01:24 PM
You sure?
When I look at that picture from Ednavar it's not streched out but you have more view on the right and on the left.

Also when reading this:
http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb....topic;f=127;t=002905 (http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=127;t=002905)

I don't get the impression things get streched out on wide view monitors.

TooCooL34
06-06-2005, 01:33 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by lbhskier37:
It would still stretch out because your field of view is going to be the same as on a non-widescreen monitor. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
You sure you have tested enough?

Look at the picture, that is NEVER a stretched view. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

ronnied316
06-06-2005, 03:11 PM
I have the Dell 2405FPW. It does NOT stretch the image at 1920x1200 resolution. Now, that being said, the minimap is still aligned within the 4:3 display, so it sits to the left of the right edge of the screen, and weather effects do not stretch beyond the 4:3 viewing area. You can still see everything else: planes, tanks, clouds, etc., but the effects like: dust, lightning, snow, etc. will not show past the 4:3 edges. It looks fantastic, I can tell you that much, and again, it is NOT stretched.

Slechtvalk
06-06-2005, 03:26 PM
You can move the minimap.

I believe; first press with right mouse on the edge from the mini map then left click while holding the right mouse button and then move it.

(but it was a long time ago that I did it but just use the edge from the map that I know for sure).

Gibbage1
06-06-2005, 03:26 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Slechtvalk:
From my study the Dell Ultrasharp 2005FPW 20-inch wide screen is a very good buy. I am considering buying it myself very seriously.

You need to adjust the config file to the right resolution from your lcd wide screen so it won't stretch out.

Nice setup Ednavar http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have this monitor, and I am glad I got it. IL2 has a few little flaws on widescreen, but nothing game-stopping. Like the map is sometimes cut off on the right side, and the arrows on Wonder Woman View are not drawn on the right side. But other then that, the wide screen REALLY brings you into the game. I love it!!!!

Dash_C.
06-06-2005, 05:59 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by EdNavar:
No probs here with a 32" Sharp: I've been using it 6 months now and it is really immersive.

http://www.fiorentin.com/misc/sharp.jpg </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

That's quite a setup, I have to make mine fit on a dorm desk and still have room for schoolwork!

Wilburnator
06-06-2005, 11:22 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by lbhskier37:
right now in IL2 you can manually set the resolution in the config files to fill a widescreen monitor. But, all the config is doing is stretching the original image to fill the wider screen, so you don't really gain a wider viewing angle and your view will be stretched horizontally. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Actually, this is untrue. It doesn't stretch anything if you set it up properly. It adds to the edges. I use a wide screen HDTV setup in 1280 x 768 mode, and what appears on the screen looks identical to a 1024 x 768 image with a couple of inches added on to either side. Not a "stretched" image. Look carefully at the pic posted by EdNavar... note the location of the speedbar info.

Salute

Wilburnator
06-06-2005, 11:30 PM
I almost forgot... many of the newer games also support widescreen without any editing of files, just pick the preferred resolution from a list in the game setup and go. Halflife 2 and GTR do, of the games I've picked up recently, and I'm sure this will become an increasingly common feature in PC games.

outlier
06-06-2005, 11:57 PM
What is the correct way to set up IL2 for wide screen? I use Powerstrip & it looks stretched.

Wilburnator
06-07-2005, 12:28 AM
I didn't use powerstrip for anything, although I've heard some people say you have to to get a custom resolution. I did not have to. Maybe this is an Nvidea thing, I have a Radeon and it supports 1280 x 768, which is the maximum resolution of my 30 in LCD HDTV monitor.

I simply edit the resolution in the conf.ini to 1280 x 768 and change saveaspect=1 to saveaspect=0. Done deal.

Salute

Wilburnator
06-07-2005, 12:40 AM
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b39/wilburnator/Normalaspect190.jpg http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b39/wilburnator/widescreenonline.jpg

Here's a comparison. Note that the wide shot isn't stretched. Your field of view is in fact increased in game.

Salute

Slechtvalk
06-07-2005, 03:56 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Gibbage1:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Slechtvalk:
From my study the Dell Ultrasharp 2005FPW 20-inch wide screen is a very good buy. I am considering buying it myself very seriously.

You need to adjust the config file to the right resolution from your lcd wide screen so it won't stretch out.

Nice setup Ednavar http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have this monitor, and I am glad I got it. IL2 has a few little flaws on widescreen, but nothing game-stopping. Like the map is sometimes cut off on the right side, and the arrows on Wonder Woman View are not drawn on the right side. But other then that, the wide screen REALLY brings you into the game. I love it!!!! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ok I just ordered it. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

FI-finbar1
06-07-2005, 01:46 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Slechtvalk:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Gibbage1:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Slechtvalk:
From my study the Dell Ultrasharp 2005FPW 20-inch wide screen is a very good buy. I am considering buying it myself very seriously.

You need to adjust the config file to the right resolution from your lcd wide screen so it won't stretch out.

Nice setup Ednavar http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have this monitor, and I am glad I got it. IL2 has a few little flaws on widescreen, but nothing game-stopping. Like the map is sometimes cut off on the right side, and the arrows on Wonder Woman View are not drawn on the right side. But other then that, the wide screen REALLY brings you into the game. I love it!!!! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ok I just ordered it. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>



Thanks Guys
I just ordered as above a Dell 20O5FPW.

IVJG51_Swine
07-23-2005, 04:48 PM
Sorry guys but this is incorrect if you think it increases the field of view. The speed bar is just moved over from the left a bit and in reality the top and lower portion of the screen is cropped. I mean you actually see less then what you get in 4X3. Look at Ed's the cockpit photo then go into your game. Go to wideview and you will notice that you are able to see more of the instruments in normal 4X3(1024X768) verses 16X9(1366X768 or 1280X768).

Go here and look at Blackjacks174's post. It will have a picture explaining it.
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=63110913&m=1951099462 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&amp;s=400102&amp;f=63110913&amp;m=1951099462)

Hopefully in the next sim Oleg will allow proper wideview gaming because the widesceen LCDs are becoming larger and the resolutions are getting really good.

blazer-glory
07-23-2005, 04:51 PM
Hey Dash, you earn too much money! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Tachyon1000
07-23-2005, 05:10 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Wilburnator:
I didn't use powerstrip for anything, although I've heard some people say you have to to get a custom resolution. I did not have to. Maybe this is an Nvidea thing, I have a Radeon and it supports 1280 x 768, which is the maximum resolution of my 30 in LCD HDTV monitor.

I simply edit the resolution in the conf.ini to 1280 x 768 and change saveaspect=1 to saveaspect=0. Done deal.

Salute </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yep, it's that simple. I have a widescreen LCD in my laptop and when I found out about this I practically plotzed. It's like a whole new game to use all the screen and see more.

IVJG51_Swine
07-23-2005, 05:21 PM
I'm still curious as to how you are seeing more? You are actually seeing less.

IVJG51_Swine
07-23-2005, 05:37 PM
I had to post this on my squad's website. Check out this thread. It might explain it better as to why you don't get an increased FOV. The location of the speedbar is insignificant.

http://www.jg51.net/forums/viewthread.php?tid=2662&page=1#pid22153 (http://www.jg51.net/forums/viewthread.php?tid=2662&amp;page=1#pid22153)

My point here is don't run out and buy a large widescreen thinking that you are going to get a better FOV.

Schutze_S
07-28-2005, 03:40 PM
Dell 2405FPW this is what I'm seeing

Settings

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/Config.gif

View

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/1920x1200.gif

Splash screen

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/Splash.gif

Map

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/mapf.gif

Map moved over

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/maph.gif

Quick mission screen

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/Mission.gif

Dunno about my field of view ,just know I have to move my head to look from one side of the screen to the other lol Awesome! Rush out and buy one http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

neural_dream
07-28-2005, 04:52 PM
Swine explained the thing clearly. For the time being widescreen image means cropped image.

Schutze_S
07-28-2005, 07:08 PM
I totally understand but you can view your gauges in wide view mode due to the high resolution,thereby giving you a wider field of view.Just my tuppence on the subject,thought ppl might like to know it's ok to go with wide screen and what it looks like.

Compare this wide view of my gauges..zoom in 1:1

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/View.jpg

Hoarmurath
07-28-2005, 07:34 PM
I use a LCD display with native resolution 1280*1024.

I did this screen by surimposing two screenshots of the same track, same moment, one with 1280*960, and the other with 1280*1024... The largest image is at 50% opacity.

First, you can see that the two planes are exactly surimposed, no stretching.

Second, you can see at the bottom right corner that i actually see more of the island!!!

So yes, my field of vision is enlarged.

http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/1783/test25yn.jpg

NonWonderDog
07-29-2005, 12:43 AM
Yeah it's cropped, but you can adjust the FOV in five or ten degree increments, right? Just zoom out a couple clicks and... BAM! Increased FOV!

"Wide View" would be a bit cropped top to bottom, but does it really matter?

Note that I do not have a 16:9 monitor, but this is just too obvious.

IVJG51_Swine
07-29-2005, 07:38 AM
I'll look at this later today. FYI, I'm not arguing here. Trust me I would love to see an increased FOV. I just haven't been able to make it happen yet. Thanks for the input. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

IVJG51_Swine
07-29-2005, 07:43 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Hoarmurath:
I use a LCD display with native resolution 1280*1024.

I did this screen by surimposing two screenshots of the same track, same moment, one with 1280*960, and the other with 1280*1024... The largest image is at 50% opacity.

First, you can see that the two planes are exactly surimposed, no stretching.

Second, you can see at the bottom right corner that i actually see more of the island!!!

So yes, my field of vision is enlarged.

http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/1783/test25yn.jpg </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

This one kind of confused me. I don't see it in the picture - I'm probably wrong here but I thought I would askhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

IVJG51_Swine
07-29-2005, 07:46 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Schutze_S:
Dell 2405FPW this is what I'm seeing

Settings

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/Config.gif

View

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/1920x1200.gif

Splash screen

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/Splash.gif

Map

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/mapf.gif

Map moved over

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/maph.gif

Quick mission screen

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/Mission.gif

Dunno about my field of view ,just know I have to move my head to look from one side of the screen to the other lol Awesome! Rush out and buy one http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

<span class="ev_code_YELLOW">These look great but they are still cropped. That's ok because it is a great view but it doesn't give you any additional advantage over someone else since you don't get a better or larger FOV. Cool setup though. ~S~</span>

Hoarmurath
07-29-2005, 08:01 AM
ok, i will explain better, sorry if my first explanation wasn't clear enough...

I use a custom setting of 1280*1024. According to what people were saying, as this is not a 4:3 ratio, my fov should be either stretched vertically from the 1280*960 view, or cropped horizontally.

So, what i did, was taking two identical screenshots (same track, same instant, same point of view), one at the normal 1280*960 setting, the other at the 1280*1024 one.

After that, i combined the two screenshots in this image, having the larger one semi transparent so you can see any differences between both images at first glance.

As you can see, it is completely impossible to differentiate the planes from both screenshots. This indicate clearly that the image wasn't stretched, nor cropped. Instead, you can clearly see that not only the two planes are perfectly identical, but also that on the larger screenshot, i actually see a larger portion of the island on the right bottom. If the image had been streched or cropped, i would not have seen more of this island by any means.

The fact that the two planes are perfectly identical under these two resolutions, and that i see more of the scenary behind the plane indicate that i have a larger field of vision when using 1280*1024 than when i use 1280*960.

As i have a regular LCD screen, the difference is not so big, only 64 pixels. I don't know what it would give on a large LCD screen. But visibly, the game can support resolutions that are not in the 4:3 format.

HotelBushranger
07-29-2005, 08:52 AM
I have a 19 inch LCD, and I find its very annoying. My res is 1152 by 864, and very ugly I must say. It's so unco, I'd rather have my 1024 back if it wasn't for the fact that my old monitor is so darn chunky!

Slechtvalk
07-29-2005, 04:39 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by IVJG51_Swine:
<span class="ev_code_YELLOW">These look great but they are still cropped. That's ok because it is a great view but it doesn't give you any additional advantage over someone else since you don't get a better or larger FOV. Cool setup though. ~S~</span> </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

How do you mean cropped? The actuel game footage isn't cropped. I got a widescreen myself now and I see more on the right and the left and it's not cropped. Only the load screens and plane load out/mission briefings are cropped. And the map ofcourse but I can see everything else like enemy&friendly dots/rivers/mountains/airfields etc in widescreen. In short I have a wider screen in which I can see more then I could on my 4:3 screen.

IVJG51_Swine
07-30-2005, 10:39 AM
http://www.jg51.net/forums/viewthread.php?tid=2662&page=1#pid22153 (http://www.jg51.net/forums/viewthread.php?tid=2662&amp;page=1#pid22153)

Take a look here and see what we are talking about. I still haven't seen a screenshot that isn't missing something from the bottom or the top. I have a widescreen as well. Again, this isn't meant to be an argument I'm just trying to figure out how to make it work. However, Hourmurath's looks kind of interesting but that is just a slight increase at the top and bottom.

Slechtvalk can you post a picture? I'd like to see it if you can. Thanks

Schutze_S
07-31-2005, 11:47 PM
Clipped dust effect.After watching the All PF movies it is quite noticeable how much you do loose in height aswell as having this effect..

http://www.schutze.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/UBI/clip.gif