PDA

View Full Version : Black screen/freeze when loading mid-game



frogthroat
10-03-2018, 09:41 PM
When in a game and loading another save the game just freezes. There's only a black screen.

As in, when the latest two saves are auto saves and third one is manual save. When loading the manual save or the second autosave, the game just freezes. The process must be then killed via task manager. I don't know if also the latest autosave freezes when mid-game. Haven't tried yet.

The saves are ok when game is then started and a savegame is loaded. It happens only when a game is already loaded and trying to load another save.

Windows 10 Pro, 64bit
16GB RAM
GTX 980 Ti
NVIDIA driver 411.63
i5 8600

UbiGabrinth
10-03-2018, 11:43 PM
Are all three saves from the same game or have you deleted your saves and restarted?

mustang05tim
10-04-2018, 06:45 AM
I have the same exact problem. It does this when I select the "Load from latest Save"

I am on Win 10 Pro 64 bit
16 GB Ram
i5-5600K
GTX1050 Ti Driver 411.70

All Saves are from the same game

I have 5 autosaves, a last episode save, a manual save, 3 quicksaves, and another manual save, listed in reverse chronological order.

The_Red_Cloud
10-04-2018, 02:36 PM
Any time I die in game and go to reload the last save my screen turns black and the game freezes until i force close it. Oddly enough this only happens if i die while in combat. Ive died 4 times in game, 3 from combat which resulted in the game freezing, and one from drowning in which the freeze did not occur. Was on the 411.70 Nvidia drivers, and am now upgrading to 416.16 which was released today (Oct. 4)

mustang05tim
10-04-2018, 07:23 PM
Any time I die in game and go to reload the last save my screen turns black and the game freezes until i force close it. Oddly enough this only happens if i die while in combat. Ive died 4 times in game, 3 from combat which resulted in the game freezing, and one from drowning in which the freeze did not occur. Was on the 411.70 Nvidia drivers, and am now upgrading to 416.16 which was released today (Oct. 4)

Come to think of it, the only time this happens to me is when selecting the load last save, after dying in combat. If instead I go to the load a saved game after dying to combat, and pick the latest save (usually a autosave), it loads normally. I think that the problem here might relate to the logic that determines what is the latest save, it might be passing a bad name or object to the loadgame method. Instead of catching it, it seems to be putting it into a endless loop.

Loki2643
10-04-2018, 10:11 PM
Same here.

http://sig.sysprofile.de/quicksys/sysp-81796.png (http://www.sysprofile.de/id81796)

DevilSlayerSVK
10-05-2018, 05:37 AM
After the death, and loading save (auto-save or manual), my monitor is black, music still working, but loading is nowhere. Sry for my english
Pc:
win 10 64bit
i5-8400
GTX 1070 driver 416.16
8 GB Ram
And game is on SSD Samsung 850 Pro

Mr-Quu
10-05-2018, 10:55 PM
I too have this issue. Very annoying, as the game seems amazing but on harder difficulties I seem to die.... often. Which in theory would be cool and challenging but the game itself is just too powerful! Lul

win 10 64-bit
i5-8400
RX 580
18.9.3 amd drivers
8 GB ram

I thought maybe the default Very High setting for my rig was exceeding the 8 gb of system ram I have and lowered the settings to the high preset. I got one good load from "Load Last Save" before it started to happen again.